There are multiple ways to use this guide. Use the Index on the left to jump to a particular microform. Clicking on the call number will open a link to the full catalog record in UMD's online catalog. Clicking on the 'Full Description' will expand the text for an overview of that collection. Print and online indexes and finding aids, as well as digitized versions of the collections, are listed under other sources when avalible. (Some of these are outside links not maintained by the University. To report broken links, please click on the 'comment' link at the top of the page or contact the author of the Guide.)
Location Code & Call Number: MCK PER M-FILM HQ1418.A43 (21 Reels)
Click to show fill description
This collection contains diaries from the American Antiquarian Society, the South Caroliniana Library, the Alabama Department of Archives and History, the Woodruff Library, the University of North Carolina, the Perkins Library, the University of Alabama, Swemm Library, the University of Georgia Libraries, the Allegany County Historical Society, and the South Carolina Historical Society.
The microfiche is arranged in segments:
The guides provide a listing of the authors of the diaries included in each segment, as well as a descriptive introduction to each diary, including references to finding aids, and a synopsis of the contents of each reel. There is also an index of subjects and proper names, and a synopsis of reels for the New England segment.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location Code & Call Number: MCK PER M-FILM HQ1418.A44 1988 (40 Reels)
Click to show the full description
This collection contains diaries from the American Antiquarian Society, the South Caroliniana Library, the Alabama Department of Archives and History, the Woodruff Library, the University of North Carolina, the Perkins Library, the University of Alabama, Swemm Library, the University of Georgia Libraries, the Allegany County Historical Society, and the South Carolina Historical Society.
The microfiche is arranged in segments:
The guides provide a listing of the authors of the diaries included in each segment, as well as a descriptive introduction to each diary, including references to finding aids, and a synopsis of the contents of each reel. There is also an index of subjects and proper names, and a synopsis of reels for the New England segment.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FICHE HQ1154.C67 (124 Fiche)
This collection consists of 117 pamphlets published between 1814 and 1912 which are held by Cornell's Olin Library.
Pamphlets are arranged in chronological order. The index lists items in chronological order, by author and by organization name or governmental agency.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location & Call Number: Microfilm HQ1426.H4 (23 Reels)
Herstory is an international collection of over three hundred periodicals, newspapers and newsletters published by feminists and women's organizations between 1956 and 1971. The collection is based on the holdings of the Women's History Periodical Archive, originally housed in the Women's History Library, Berkeley, California.
Newspaper and journal titles are arranged alphabetically in one section, then chronologically by issue. Newsletters are also arranged alphabetically in a separate section by title, then chronologically by issue. A few newsletters are arranged alphabetically, then geographically by chapter location:
Access to this collection is gained through the Table of Contents. This index is divided into three sections: newspapers, journals and newsletters. Titles are entered alphabetically in each section, then chronologically by issues. There is no subject access to the collection.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location Code & Call Number: MCK M-FILM HQ1121.H5 (995 Reels)
Location Code & Call Number: MCK M-FILM HQ1121.H51 PERIODICALS (253 Reels)
The Worldcat, a FirstSearch file available through the Libraries' homepage, contains the records of History of Women titles. To limit a search to these titles, type History of Women in the search space and click on Notes (Keyword) in the Index box.
This collection of printed books, pamphlets, periodicals, manuscripts and photographs is based on the selected holdings in women's history of the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College; the Sophia Smith Collection (Women's History Archive) at Smith College; the Jane Addams Memorial Collection of the University of Illinois, Chicago Circle Campus; the Galatea Collection of the-Boston Public-Library; the Miriam Y. Holden collection; the Ida Rust Macpherson Collection at Scripps College; and materials f-rom the New York Public Library, Widener Library at Harvard University, and the Yale University Libraries. The collection includes approximately 12,000 volumes of printed books, over 2,000 pamphlets, 1,000 photographs, approximately 117 periodicals, and 100,000 pages of manuscript material.
The collection is divided into five sections: (1) monographs; (2) pamphlets; (3) periodicals; (4) manuscripts, and (5) selected photographs. Materials are arranged on the reels in chronological order. Periodicals, which are grouped and numbered separately, are arranged alphabetically by title. Manuscripts and photographs are arranged by personal or organizational affiliation. (See attached list of manuscript collections.)
The guide contains five parts: (1) reel guide summary, which lists a range of item numbers found on each reel; (2) main entry index for nonperiodical items, which provides a bibliographic citation, reel number and item number; (3) subject/added entry index, which provides the item location number of the corresponding material; (4)name index to photographs; and (5) periodical title list.
Further descriptive information can be obtained by consulting catalogs and guides for the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library, the Sophia Smith Collection, the catalog of the Galatea Collection (see Women's Studies Pamphlet Collection, Reference Room), and the "List of Works in the New York Public Library Relating to Women," New York Public Library Bulletin, December 1905, pp. 1-57.
History of Women
Manuscript Collections
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location Code & Call Number:MCK-PER M-FICHE HQ1413.H65S86 (144 Fiche)
This collection includes papers of Isabella Beecher Hooker held by the Stowe-Day Foundation as well as items from the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library (Yale), the Lucy Robbins Welles Library, the Mark Twain Papers, the Sophia Smith Collection, the Seneca Falls Historical Society, the Schlesinger Library (Radcliffe) and other libraries. Hooker was the youngest daughter of Lyman and Harriet Porter Beecher of Litchfield, CT and Cincinnati, OH. She was a leading suffragist, reformer and writer. Approximately 1,700 items were filmed for this project.
The material is divided into four series:
See pages 53-55 of the guide to the project for information about the format of each microfiche.
Correspondents are identified in the guide.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location Code & Call Number: McK-Per HQ 1904 .N3
This collection includes correspondence, minutes, legal papers, financial records, printed materials, photographs and items from the World Women's Party. The period covered is primarily from 1913 to 1974.
Items are arranged after the following format:
Series I: Correspondence, 1913-1974
Series II: Minutes, 1917-1972
Series III: Legal Papers, 1914-1971
Series IV: Financial Records
The original NWP papers are held by the National Woman's Party, Washington, D.C. and the Estate of Alice Paul, Ridgefield, Connecticut.
The National Woman's Party was founded by Alice Paul in 1913. Paul and her associates formed the new group during a dispute with the National American Woman Suffrage Association over the proper strategy to secure the right to vote for women. NWP tactics directed to encouraging Congressional passage of a federal suffrage amendment, as opposed to individual state laws, were modeled after the militant British suffragettes. Following passage of the amendment, the NWP turned its attention to equal rights for women. Alice Paul drafted the original Equal Rights Amendment almost fifty years thereafter it was submitted in every session of Congress. The NWP lobbied vigorously for its passage until its acceptance by the House in 1971 and the Senate in 1972. During the 1920s and early 1930s NWP worked to broaden women's rights on state and local levels, in federal agencies and eventually in other countries. The NWP also campaigned for the appointment of women to high federal office. The unique devotion of the organization to equal rights for women is of historic importance. Its often solitary fight for the ERA and other equity measures is also of special significance.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location & Call Number: McK Microfilm HQ1438.A135S625 1991A PT.5
The library owns part 5 of this collection of papers and diaries of Southern women and their families in the nineteenth century, taken from the Alabama, South Carolina, Georgia and Florida collections of the Southern Historical Collection of the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
For each individual or family collection, introductory materials are provided, followed by the papers and diaries, which are divided into series and subseries in the the cases of extensive collections.
The Guide serves as a reel index to the collection, and also provides extensive documentation, particularly for the larger collections of papers. Entries for the larger collections give a detailed description of papers and diaries in the collection and biographical notes containing information about the families and individuals included. There is an index of major subjects and people at the end of the guide.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location & Call Number: Microfilm JK1899.S7A2 (5 Reels)
Correspondence, speeches and other writings of Elizabeth Cady Stanton, social reformer and a leading proponent for more than fifty years of women's rights in political, economic, educational and religious spheres. Among her correspondents were: Susan B. Anthony, Daniel Cady, William Henry Channing, Lydia Maria Child, Frances Power Cobbe, Paulina Wright Davis, Frederick Douglass, William Lloyd Garrison, Thomas Wentworth Higginson, Julia Ward Howe, Lucretia Mott, Emmeline Pankhurst, Wendell Phillips, Elizabeth E. Pike, Henry Brewster Stanton, Lucy Stone, Edith Roosevelt, John Swinton, Theodore Tilton, Thurlow Weed, and John Greenleaf Whittier.
A register with reel list is located on reel one of the microfilm.
Mrs. Stanton was an advocate of Negro rights and a leading suffragist. In addition, she was active in the temprance movement, campaigned for property rights for married women and promoted sexual equality in the areas of business, the professions, and the church. She is the author of The Women's Bible and, along with Susan B. Anthony and Mathilda Joslyn Gage, of volumes one through three of The History of Women Suffrage. Mrs. Stanton was also the first woman to run for the House of Representatives, and she was president of the National American Women Suffrage Association.
