There are multiple ways to use this guide. Use the Index on the left to jump to a particular microform. Clicking on the call number will open a link to the full catalog record in UMD's online catalog. Clicking on the 'Full Description' will expand the text for an overview of that collection. Print and online indexes and finding aids, as well as digitized versions of the collections, are listed under other sources when avalible. (Some of these are outside links not maintained by the University. To report broken links, please click on the 'comment' link at the top of the page or contact the author of the Guide.)
Call Number: Microfilm HD7833.A5 (71 Reels)
These items are primarily organizational materials, 1906-1942; research materials, 1906-1943; Correspondence, 1905-1943; and publications, 1909-1942, of the Association. The collection also includes more than 5,000 pamphlets dealing with the early development of protective labor legislation and social security in the United States.
The papers are divided into four series:
The collection also includes more than 5,000 pamphlets dealing with the early development of protective labor legislation and social security in the Unites States.
The Guide includes a list of pamphlets arranged alphabetically by author; a real listing of the dates and general subjects of the contents of the collection; and reel notes, which describe the material on reels one through sixty.
This collection was microfilmed from the original manuscripts held in the Labor Management Documentation Center (LMDC), Rew York State School of Industrial and Labor Relations, at Cornell University. The complete pamphlet collection is not available on microfilm, but can be used at the LMDC.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM HD8055.A5S3 1925a (341 Reels)
The letters of Samuel Gompers, the first President of the American Federation of Labor, span the period from July 7, 1887 to his death in November 1924. Several letters antedate Gompers' assumption of the AFL Presidency. In addition thirty-seven volumes of the letters of Gompers' successor, William Green, which were written during 1925, are included. The letters document a wide variety of labor issues and include correspondence with a great many national figures as well as virtually every major figure in the AFL.
The letters are arranged chronologically with a list of correspondents at the beginning of each reel.
Volumes 251, 310 and 313 are missing. No guide to the collection exists.
Location & Call Number: Microfiche JK2391.S6S6 (142 Reels)
The Socialist Party of America Papers document, through correspondence, minutes of committee meetings, proceedings, financial records, court records, speeches, press releases, pamphlets, leaflets, broadsides, books, serials and photographs, the activities of American Socialists in the twentieth century.
The papers consist of five series:
Included in the Related Organization Files are the papers of the International Solidarity Committee, the Social Democratic Federation, the Labor Research Front, the League for Industrial Democracy, the Post War World Council, the Southern Tenant Farmers Union, the Workers' Defense League and Communist and Trotskyist organizations. Correspondence in the National Office Files comprises over half of the collection.
Published material is listed by format in the guide.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
