Research Guides: Private Press and Fine Press Works in Special Collections: Gehenna Press

About Gehenna Press

Gehenna Press was founded in 1942 by Leonard Baskin. The press began at Yale University while Baskin was a student there but moved to Northampton, Massachusetts after he graduated. Collaborators of Baskin and Gehenna Press include Ted Hughes, Anthony Hecht, James Baldwin, Archibald MacLeish, and Wilfred Owen. Gehenna Press closed in 2002.

Books printed at Gehenna Press we have in Special Collections:

The jolly beggars; a cantata by Robert Burns; Edited by John C. Weston
Call Number: Rare Folio | PR4311 .A1 1963
Publication Date: 1963
Caprices & grotesques; drawings by Leonard Baskin
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | NC1075.B32 A43
Publication Date: 1965
A check list of the publications of Thomas Bird Mosher of Portland, Maine, MDCCCXCI [to] MDCCCCXXIII, compiled & edited by Benton L. Hatch and with a biographical essay by Ray Nash
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | Z232.M886 H3
Publication Date: 1966
Aesopic : twenty four couplets by Anthony Hecht to accompany the Thomas Bewick wood engravings for select fables / with an afterword on the blocks by Philip Hofer
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PS3558.E28 A65 1967
Publication Date: 1967
Culs de lampe
Call Number: Rare Stacks | N7740 .C84
Publication Date: 1968
Peter by Arthur S. Wensinger
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PS3552.O95 Z84 1972
Publication Date: 1972
Zapf’s civilité disclosed : adorned with terse & pithy apothegms / formed and printed at The Gehenna Press
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | Z250.Z3 Z36 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Howls & whispers : poems by Ted Hughes ; etchings by Leonard Baskin
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | PR6058.U37 H695 1998
Publication Date: 1998

Secondary Sources

Below is a list of books about Gehenna Press within Special Collections:

The Gehenna Press : the work of fifty years, 1942-1992 : the catalogue of an exhibition curated by Lisa Unger Baskin / containing an assessment of the work of the Press by Colin Franklin ; a bibliography of the books of the Gehenna Press by Hosea Baskin &
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | Z232.G2956 G44 1992
Publication Date: c1992
A bibliography of the Gehenna Press : 1942-1975 by Stephen Brook
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z232.G2956 B76 1976
Publication Date: 1976