Research Guides: Private Press and Fine Press Works in Special Collections: Merrymount Press

About Merrymount Press

The Merrymount Press was founded in 1896 by Daniel Berkeley Updike in Boston, Massachusetts. Illustrators T. M. Cleland, W. A. Dwiggins, and Rudolph Ruzicka illustrated several works for the press. The Merrymount Press closed in 1941.

If you would like to learn more about our holdings from or related to the Merrymount Press, please check UMD Discover or contact us.

Books Printed by Merrymount Press

Bob; the story of our mocking-bird. With sixteen illustrations in color by Sidney Lanier
Call Number: Maryland Stacks | QL676 .L28
Publication Date: 1899
Parsifal, a mystical drama by Richard Wagner; retold in the spirit of the Bayreuth interpretation by Oliver Huckel
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | ML50.W14 P22 1903
Publication Date: 1903
A catalogue of the collection of prints from the Liber studiorum of Joseph Mallord William Turner, formed by the late Francis Bullard of Boston Massachusetts, and bequeathed by him to the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | NE642.T9 B5
Publication Date: 1916
A catalogue of italian renaissance woodcuts by William M. Ivins, Jr.
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | NE1152.A1 N4
Publication Date: 1917
A dissertation upon English typographical founders and founderies ... with appendix by John Nichols &c., &c., edited by D. B. Updike by Edward Rowe Mores
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z250 .M84
Publication Date: 1924
The complete angler, or, The contemplative man's recreation; with an introduction by Bliss Perry ; and decorations by W.A. Dwiggens by Izaak Walton
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z232.D975 WAD 28.13
Publication Date: 1928
Two centuries of Bruce Rogers, with a prologue, "B R's secret passion," by Christopher Morley by Philip C. Duschnes
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z232.R67 D8 1937
Publication Date: 1937
The Larz Anderson House in Washington by Society of the Cincinnati
Call Number: Maryland Folio | E202.1 .A75 1938
Publication Date: 1937
The wall-paintings of India, Central Asia & Ceylon; a comparative study by Benjamin Rowland, Jr., with an introductory essay on the nature of Buddhist art by Ananda K. Coomaraswamy, with a foreword by A. Townshend Johnson and colour plates by F. Bailey Va
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | ND2815 .R6
Publication Date: 1938

Books About Merrymount Press

The well-made book : essays & lectures by Daniel Berkeley Updike ; edited by William S. Peterson
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z124 .U63 2002
Publication Date: 2002
The humanist printer : exhibitions & a conference honoring Daniel Berkeley Updike’s Merrymount Press, 1893-1993 by Alice H.R.H. Beckwith
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z232.M57 B43 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Updike: American printer and his Merrymount Press by Peter Beilenson
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z232.M57 U83
Publication Date: 1947