Research Guides: Private Press and Fine Press Works in Special Collections: The Grabhorn Press

About The Grabhorn Press

The Grabhorn Press was founded in 1919 by brothers, Edwin and Robert Grabhorn in San Francisco, California. The press closed in 1965.

If you would like to learn more about our holdings from or related to the Grabhorn, please check UMD Discover or contact us.

Books Printed by the Grabhorn Press

The Plantin-Moretus museum, a printer's paradise by Theodore L. DeVinne
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z232.P71 D5 1929
Publication Date: 1929
The diary of Philip Leget Edwards; the great cattle drive from California to Oregon in 1837 by Philip Leget Edwards
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | F864 .E35 1932
Publication Date: 1932
California as it is & as it may be; or, A guide to the gold region by F.P. Wierzbicki, M.D.; with an introduction by George D. Lyman; drawings by Valenti Angelo
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | F865 .W643
Publication Date: 1933
Reminiscences and incidents of early days of San Francisco (1845-50) by John Henry Brown; with an introduction & reader's guide by Douglas Sloane Watson
Call Number: Rare Stacks | F869.S3 B82
Publication Date: c. 1933
The Duke of Sacramento; a comedy in four acts by Warren Baer; reprinted from the rare edition of 1856, to which is added a sketch of the early San Francisco stage by Jane Bissel Grabhorn, and illustrated by Arvilla Parker
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PS1056.B4 D8 1934
Publication Date: 1934
Phoenixiana; a collection of the burlesques & sketches of John Phoenix, alias John P. Squibob, who was, in fact, Lieutenant George H. Derby, U.S.A., Edited by Francis P. Farquhar
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PS1535 .P5 1937
Publication Date: 1937
A brief chronology of discovery in the Pacific ocean from Balboa to Capt. Cook's first voyage, 1513 to 1770 by Francis P. Farquhar
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | DU19 .F37 1943
Publication Date: 1943
Sketches of scenery and notes of personal adventure in California and Mexico. With a foreword by Robert G. Cleland & reproductions of the 16 lithographic plates by William M'Ilvaine
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | F865 .M5
Publication Date: 1951
Nineteenth century type displayed in 18 fonts, cast by United States founders, now in the cases of the Grabhorn Press by Grabhorn Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z250 .G715
Publication Date: 1959
The buccaneers; a Grove play based on Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island by David Magee; Music by Leon C. Radsliff
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | ML50.R133 B82 1964
Publication Date: c. 1964

Books About the Grabhorn Press

Bibliography of the Grabhorn press, 1957-1966 & Grabhorn/Hoyem, 1966-1973 edited by Robert D. Harlan
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | Z232.G73 B5
Publication Date: 1977
Presses of the Grabhorn Press by S. & K. Grover
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z249 .G756
Publication Date: 1976
A tribute to Edwin Grabhorn & the Grabhorn Press by James D. Hart
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z232.G72 H3
Publication Date: 1969