Research Guides: Private Press and Fine Press Works in Special Collections: The Nonesuch Press

About the Nonesuch Press

The Nonesuch Press was founded in 1922 by Sir Francis Meynell, his wife Vera Wynn Mendel, and David Garnett in London, England. The press closed in the 1960s.

If you would like to learn more about our holdings from or related to the Nonesuch Press, please check UMD Discover or contact us.

Books Printed by the Nonesuch Press

Paradoxes and problemes, by John Donne, with two Characters and an Essay of valour. Now for the first time reprinted from the editions of 1633 and 1652 with one additional Probleme
Call Number: Rare Stacks | PR2247 .P3 1923
Publication Date: 1923
Pure poetry, an anthology by George Moore
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PR1175 .M6 1924
Publication Date: 1924
La divina commedia, or The divine vision of Dante Alighieri : in Italian & English / the Italian text edited by Mario Casella ... with the English version of H. F. Cary ; and 42 illustrations after the drawings by Sandro Botticelli
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | PQ4302 .F28 1928
Publication Date: 1928
Love's progress, or the education of Araminta by James Laver
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | PR6023.A9 L6
Publication Date: 1929
Love among the haystacks & other pieces by D. H. Lawrence, with a reminiscence by David Garnett
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PR6023.A93 L66 1930
Publication Date: 1930
The Nonesuch Dickens by Charles Dickens
Call Number: Rare Stacks | PR4550 .F37
Publication Date: 1937-1938
The writings of Gilbert White of Selborne, selected and edited by H. J. Massingham; with wood-engravings by Eric Ravilious
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | QH138.S4 W28
Publication Date: 1938
Candide, or, Optimism. Translated from the French by Richard Aldington, with an introduction by Paul Morand and twenty illustrations in colour by Sylvain Sauvage by Voltaire
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PQ2082.C3 E5 1939
Publication Date: 1939
Gloriana's glass: Queen Elizabeth I reflected in verses & dedications addressed to her, reports concerning her, and her own words written & spoken by Alan Glover
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | DA350 .G55
Publication Date: 1953
The Holy Bible. The Authorized or King James version of 1611 now reprinted with the Apocrypha. With reproductions of 105 of the sixteenth century woodcuts of Bernard Salomon
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | BS185 1963.L6
Publication Date: 1963

Books About the Nonesuch Press

An introduction to the Nonesuch Press : illustrated from material in the National Art Library by Judith Bradfield
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z232.N66 B73 1986
Publication Date: c1986
A history of the Nonesuch Press / by John Dreyfus ; with an introduction by Geoffrey Keynes & a descriptive catalogue by David McKitterick, Simon Rendall & John Dreyfus
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | Z232.N82 D74 1981
Publication Date: 1981
Sir Francis Meynell and the Nonesuch Press by Ian Rogerson
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z232.M596 R63
Publication Date: 1979