Research Guides: Private Press and Fine Press Works in Special Collections: Roycroft Press

About the Roycroft Press

The Roycroft Press was founded in 1895 by Elbert Hubbard in East Aurora, New York. The press closed in 1915.

Books printed at the Roycroft Press we have in Special Collections:

This is the preachment On going to church by George Bernard Shaw
Call Number: Rare Stacks | BV4523 .S5 1896
Publication Date: 1896
On going to church: being the preachment which treats of church-going, art, and some other themes by George Bernard Shaw
Call Number: Rare Stacks | BV4523 .S5 1896a
Publication Date: 1896
The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam: rendered into English verse by Edward Fitz Gerald; with the address of John Hay at the Omar Khayyam club by Omar Khayyam
Call Number: Rare Stacks | PK6513 .A1 1898c
Publication Date: 1898
A dream of John Ball : being an idyll in prose by William Morris
Call Number: Rare Stacks | PR5079 .D8 1898
Publication Date: 1898
Little journeys to the homes of famous women : wherein are facts biographical and critical, with other mention more intimate, gathered in stray places on various sunshiny days by Elbert Hubbard
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | CT3230 .H8 1898
Publication Date: 1898
Hand and brain: a symposium of essays on socialism by William Morris, Grant Allen, George Bernard Shaw, Henry S. Salt, Alfred Russel Wallace, and Edward Carpenter
Call Number: Rare Stacks | HX15 .H3
Publication Date: 1898
So this then is Christmas eve by Robert Browning
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PR4222 .C5 1899
Publication Date: 1899
The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam / as rendered into English verse by Edward Fitzgerald by Omar Khayyam
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PK6513 .A1 1900
Publication Date: 1900
Will o’ the mill by Master Robert Louis Stevenson
Call Number: Rare Stacks | PR5487 .W5 1901b
Publication Date: 1901

Secondary Sources

Below is a list of books about the Roycroft Press within Special Collections:

A history and bibliography of the Roycroft Printing Shop by Paul McKenna
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z232.R8 M39 1986
Publication Date: 1986