While pop-up books are a genre of book heavily associated with children's literature, the pop-up design feature is also prevalent in artists' books. Pop-ups require a mix of internal structure and motion to create three-dimensional figures that "pop up" from the pages of the book and into the world of the reader. In the world of artists' books, where the content of the book is often intended to provoke thought from the reader, this intrusion of the book into the space of the reader can be incredibly effective. Listed below are a selection of the artists' books with pop-up features.
If you would like to learn more about our holdings with pop-up design features, please check UMD Discover or contact us.
A to Z : Marvels in Paper Engineering: The History, Inspiration, and Process, The Movable Book Society
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | Z1033.T68 A86 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Rule of Thumb by Ellen Knudson, Crooked Letter Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.K636 R85 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Germ-Carrying Insects Which Transmit Infectious Diseases to Humans OR Bugs That Give You Bugs by Marianne R. Petit
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | N7433.4.P48 G47 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Madness: Reading Hamlet in the Time of Covid-19 and Other Plagues by Emily Martin
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | PR2878.H3 M37 2022
Publication Date: 2022
The Raven by Emile Goozairow
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PS2609.R87 B35 2021
Publication Date: 2016
Wings by Carolyn Shattuck
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.S4165 W56 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Tensile: A Sublime Love Story by Jessica Spring, Springtide Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.S67 T46 2021
Publication Date: 2021
The World is on a Fish's Back by Carol Schwartzott
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.S386 W67 2022
Publication Date: 2022
