Social Justice is a broad topic that encompasses all justice movements that have the aim to achieve and maintain equal rights within society for all peoples. The creative freedom that artists' books allow for paired with the historically radical act of printing and sharing information make artists books excellent tools for expression and dissemination of information pertaining to social justice. Some of the topics that our artists' books cover include Civil Rights, Racial justice, Disability justice, Gender Equality, and LGBTQ+ Rights. Listed below are a selection of the artists' books within our collection having to do with social justice.
If you would like to learn more about our holdings pertaining to artists books and social justice, please check UMD Discover or contact us.
Systemic Things : becausethingsarethewaytheyaretheywillnotstaythewaytheyare by Dirk Hagner, Inkswine Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.H34 S97 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Signs of the Re-sis-stance by Taylor Cox, Coxswain Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.C695 S546 2018
Publication Date: 2017
How We Got Them Printed: A Sampling of Lesbian Press History by Erin Moore
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | HQ76.95.U5 M6 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Safety is Not Promised by Ellen Knudson, Crooked Letter Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.K6258 S35 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Still Life with Game Bird and Dice (Oil) by Alisa J. Golden, Never Mind The Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PS3557.O3592 S755 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The Negro is Not Free, Borowsky Center for Publication Arts
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.35.P45 B76 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Women on a Roll, JUSTARIP Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | JK1896 .R55 2023
Publication Date: 2023
Still Not Free, Women's Studio Workshop
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.B484 S755 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Declaration of human rights, by Lauren Emeritz, Abstract Orange Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | JC585 .E44 2020
Publication Date: 2020
