Artists' books with unique structure features create new reading experiences by forcing a reader to engage with the material in a manner that is different from the typical 'codex' structure. While these books can have distinctive binding methods, their most notable feature is the shape the book and its front and end boards take on. Sometimes these books are in a set structural format, while other artists' books will require user engagement to 'build' the book. Listed below are a selection of the artists' books with structural design features.
If you would like to learn more about our holdings with experimental structural design features, please check UMD Discover or contact us.
Agathon's Book of Dreams by Emil Goozairow
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.G66 A33 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Out of the Sky : Remembering 9-11, by Werner Pfeiffer, Pear Whistle Press
Call Number: Special Collections Oversize | N7433.4.P54 O96 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Leaves of Grass by Lauren Emeritz, Abstract Orange Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | NB7433.4.E44 L43 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Aunt Sallie's Lament, Janus Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PS3561.A8612 A96 1988
Publication Date: 1988
2020 : A Fiasco by Todd M. Thyberg, Angel Bomb Design + Letterpress
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.t538 T84 2023
Publication Date: 2023
Babel by Cathryn Miller, Byopia Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.M55 B33 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Lockdown by Gail Watson, Birdwood Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.W387 L63 2023
Publication Date: 2023
Women on a Roll Vol. 1 by Maryann J. Riker, JUSTARIP Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | JK1896 .R55 2023
Publication Date: 2023
Still Life with Game Bird and Dice (Oil) by Alisa J. Golden, Never Mind The Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | PS3557.O3592 S755 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Lotus Harbour by Carolyn Shattuck
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.S4165 L68 2017
Publication Date: 2017
In Case of Emergency
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.M34 A4 1984
Publication Date: 1984
Book of Hours
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.C436 B665 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Out of the Sky: Remembering 911, by Werner Pfeiffer, Pear Whistle Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.P54 O96 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Space: Known and Unknown, By Lauren Emeritz and Sarah Matthews
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | NC1849.S63 E44 2023
Publication Date: 22023
