Nature, the environment, and the impact that human beings have on the natural world provide endless opportunities for artistic inspiration among book artists. Some books within this category emulate objects in nature through form, while others use the inherently natural materials of the book-making process as their focus. Others still focus on human encroachment and our impact on environmental issues, using artists' books as a tool to amplify environmental awareness.
Listed below are a selection of the artists' books within our collection having to do with climate change and the environment.
If you would like to learn more about our holdings pertaining to artists books, climate change, and the environment, please check UMD Discover or contact us.
The language of trees by Gail Watson, Birdwood Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.W387 L36 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Pistol/Pistil : Botanical Ballistics by Ann E. Kalmbach & Tatana Kellner, Women's Studio Workshop
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.k345 P57 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Melt by Philip Zimmermann, Space Heater Editions
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.Z55 M45 2023
Publication Date: 2023
Earth by Lauren Emeritz, Abstract Orange Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.E44 E27 2023
Publication Date: 2023
Root, Leaf, & Flower : A Printed Garden by Catherine Alice Michaelis, May Day Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.M494 R66 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Testing Book Two: Downwinders by Fred Hagstrom, Strong Silent Type Press
Call Number: Special Collections Folio | N7433.4.H25 T472 2023
Publication Date: 2023
Testing Book Three: Navajo Uranium Miners by Fred Hagstrom, Strong Silent Type Press
Publication Date: 2024
Wings by Carolyn Shattuck
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.S4165 W56 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Germ-carrying insects which transmit infectious diseases to humans, by Marianne R. Petit
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | N7433.4.P48 G47 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Small World Alphabet, Grey Spider Press
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks | NE1112.D35 S53 1992
Publication Date: 1992
