Research Guides: Public Health: Articles & Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

While not explicitly devoted to Public Health, the following related, general, and/or multidisciplinary databases may prove useful. The UMD Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases which can be accessed through Database Finder.

Get started with:

Academic Search Ultimate Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text CINAHL Plus with Full Text is an online source for full text nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. This database contains 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937, as well as searchable cited references, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Time span: 1937-present. This database does not contain author first names. A search on 'Rice, Flora' will find records with 'Rice, F' or 'Rice, FM' in the author field. You can't type in 'Rice, Flora C'; you'll get zero hits.
MEDLINE Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals. Users can effectively search and retrieve information with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning and administration of services. 1966- present. Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First There are no ISBNs in this database.
Public Health This database delivers core public health literature with centralized access to journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public-health terminology. Covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business.
PubMed The National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries, and includes additional older citations and out of scope citations from Medline journals. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education, public health, health care planning and administration of services. Also includes additional life science journals. mid-1960s - present
Scopus Scopus is an abstract and citation database with over 80 million records and 1.8 billion cited references that date back to 1970. Includes over 27 thousand serial titles and 249 thousand monographs in the social, physical, life and health sciences, as well as over 44 million patent records. More information on using Scopus is available at: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus.
Google Scholar Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories.

Explore more with:

Health Poll Database Heath Poll Database is an archive of exclusively health-oriented survey questions. It is designed to support research on topics like the social determinants of health, access to care, individual health status, health policy, and health politics. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs, and health-care utilization.

Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal An integrated, curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research and gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health.

JoVE A peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary scientific video journal indexed in PubMed and Web of Science enables users to quickly and systematically learn new research methods and technologies developed at top science laboratories. Includes material related to Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience.
ScienceDirect Peer-reviewed, full text database containing electronic book and journal titles covering the fields of science, technology and medicine. In addition to keyword searches, the image search and value added content associated with the publication can be found in the form of audio, video and datasets. Extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities. Dates of abstracting and indexing vary. Full text prior to 1995 often going back to vol. 1, iss. 1 Author searches are done on the last name only. Subject searches are supported, but subjects are not presented within the records. Truncation is not supported in phrases.
PAIS Index From 1915 - Covers the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Includes the policy oriented literature such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations, the environment, demography, public health and science and technology.
Passport This resource requires a campus login for access. Provides comparable statistics for 205 countries on economic indicators, health, foreign trade, environment, lifestyle, industrial and agriculture output, communications and more. Also includes market size data for over 300 consumer products and services. It covers demographic trends, economic indicators, finance, foreign trade, health, labor force, industrial and agricultural production, environmental data, consumer expenditure patterns, retail sales, advertising and media patterns, consumer prices, household patterns, literacy rates, telecommunications, automotive and transport figures, travel and tourism, income and earnings potential. It also includes market size data for over 300 consumer products and services.
PsycARTICLES PsycArticles provides access to 119 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated journals, regarding social and behavioral sciences, including their flagship publication, American Psychologist. It includes access to current cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, as well as historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.

Pre-Print Databases

Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.

medRxiv medRxiv (pronounced "med-archive") is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information. medRxiv is for the distribution of preprints that are complete but unpublished manuscripts describing health research. Research articles, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, clinical research design protocols and data articles may be posted. medRxiv is not intended for case reports, narrative reviews, editorials, letters, opinion pieces and hypotheses that lack data, laboratory protocols/recipes, theses, term papers, textbook excerpts or individual components of research articles such as figures, tables, and datasets.
bioRxiv bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals. Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. However, all articles undergo a basic screening process for offensive and/or non-scientific content and for material that might pose a health or biosecurity risk and are checked for plagiarism. No endorsement of an article’s methods, assumptions, conclusions, or scientific quality by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory is implied by its appearance in bioRxiv. An article may be posted prior to, or concurrently with, submission to a journal but should not be posted if it has already been accepted for publication by a journal.

Databases by subject

Databases by Subject

The University of Maryland subscribes to hundreds of article databases and each one covers a specific range of subjects. Below is a list of databases which you may find helpful in locating articles on your topic of interest. However, there are many more listed in Database Finder - if you'd like further assistance with this, please don't hesitate to contact me at nedelina@umd.edu.

News

Kinesiology / Public Health / Medicine

SPORTDiscus with Full Text - Sport-related database
Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary database
PubMed - Medicine, Health Care, Psychiatry, Public Health, and More
CINAHL - Nursing and allied health journals

Family Science

Public Policy

Check the Public Policy Research Guide for a listing of databases.

If you are doing a project that spans multiple disciplines, you may find the following article databases useful:

Business

Mintel Consumer Intelligence Reports - market analysis reports related to the health/medical industry (market research studies, consumer attitudes and purchasing habits, opportunities, weaknesses, and the future of the market).
Passport - comparable statistics for 205 countries on economic indicators, health, foreign trade, environment, lifestyle, industrial and agriculture output, communications, and more. Also includes market size data for over 300 consumer products and services.
IBIS World - a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. A great resource for finding future trends in products and services. Use it to justify why your research topic is important in your research paper or to prepare for a job interview presentation.
Business Source Complete - It is the world's definitive scholarly business database and the most comprehensive source for information on mass media and communication.

Psychology

PsycARTICLES - Psychology
PsycINFO - Psychology, Neuroscience, Medicine, Education, and More

Education

ERIC - Education

Communication

Communication & Mass Media Complete - Communication
Business Source Complete - It is the world's definitive scholarly business database and the most comprehensive source for information on mass media and communication.

Multicultural, Gender, and Minority Studies

Ethnic NewsWatch - Ethnic and Minority Studies
GenderWatch - Women's Studies, Gay and Lesbian Studies
LGBTQ+ Source - Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies
Minority Health and Health Equity Archive

Sociology

Social Sciences Citation Index- Multidisciplinary Social Sciences
SocIndex with Full Text - Sociology and Related Fields

Biology

BioOne - Biomedicine, Biotechnology, and More
BIOSIS Previews - Life Sciences
PLOS BIOLOGY

History

America: History & Life with Full-Text - U.S. and Canadian History
Historical Abstracts with Full-Text - World History (Non-U.S. and Non-Canadian)

Public Health News

Public Health News

MedlinePlus, is a goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date.

MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions.

Public Health

Why Can't I Just Search Google?

Why use databases?

Improve Your Search Strategy With...

Citation Search

Visual Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Get started with:

Explore more with:

Databases by subject

Public Health News