Complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) refers to health philosophies, approaches, and therapies that are generally not taught in medical schools, used in hospitals, or reimbursed by medical insurance companies; however awareness, research, and acceptance in this area is increasing. This is a selected list of information sources related to complementary and alternative medicine available in McKeldin Library and free on the Internet.
Complementary and alternative medicine sourcebook by
Part of the Health Reference Series, this book provides introductory material on choosing CAM, whole medical systems, mind-body interventions, dietary interventions, types of alternative therapies, applications of alternative treatments to specific conditions, and more.
Guide to Complementary and Alternative Medicine on the Internet by
Provides advice on evaluating CAM Web sites and supplies information on general sites, specific CAM therapies/philosophies, and CAM for specific illnesses or symptoms.
Introduction to Alternative and Complementary Therapies by
Discover creative new ways to facilitate the therapeutic process Therapeutic modalities that psychotherapists usually rely on--such as psychodynamic, humanistic, systems, cognitive, narrative, analytic and solution focused--are all verbal interventions. Introduction to Complementary and Alternative Therapies presents a comprehensive overview of complementary and alternative therapeutic interventions that go beyond the standard verbal approaches. The therapies presented in this book--including mindfulness and meditation, spirituality, poetry therapy, art therapy, psychodrama, dance/movement therapy, music therapy, animal-assisted therapy, and touch therapy--provide the reader with creative non-traditional modalities that are effective in conjunction with traditional treatment, or as substitutes. They may enrich talk-therapy, especially when therapists and/or clients get "stuck," or they may provide healing on their own. Introduction to Complementary and Alternative Therapies explains the basics about how these nontraditional therapies work and provides vivid examples for utilizing them in treatment. Each chapter is written by an expert in the field of expertise, and includes a description of the approach, research evidence about its effectiveness, guidelines on how to use the therapy in practice, and case examples. This excellent volume also provides practitioners with a wide range of resources, including Web sites, information on state and national organizations, accrediting board info, and more. Topics in Introduction to Complementary and Alternative Therapies include: the mind-body relationship ways to integrate spirituality in counseling the healing components of poetry research studies on art therapy different techniques available in Psychodrama using body movement as a means of expressing conflicts and desires how music therapy promotes positive changes in the client the healing aspects of animals "and much more " Introduction to Complementary and Alternative Therapies is a horizon-expanding guide for therapists, social workers, psychologists, counselors, physicians, educators, and students.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine in the United States by
Integration of complementary and alternative medicine therapies (CAM) with conventional medicine is occurring in hospitals and physicians offices, health maintenance organizations (HMOs) are covering CAM therapies, insurance coverage for CAM is increasing
Complementary and Alternative Approaches to Biomedicine by
This book drew together an international group of basic scientists to explore the topic of biomedical research with an emphasis on complementary and alternative approaches. It covers six major topics: approaches to complementary and alternative medicine (CAM), emphasizing China, Japan, Taiwan, and Europe, CAM approaches to specific diseases and biomedical conditions, physical interventions such as touch, hydrotherapy, and sound, dietary intervention in specific diseases, future approaches to novel molecules from CAM, and education and philosophy. The fifth section, which focuses on basic research behind CAM, is perhaps the most original, offering new and challenging information on the uses of natural products from animals as sources of potential therapies.
Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by
Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine is a contemporary, comprehensive glossary of approximately 6,600 terms and 500 illustrations, along with 24 appendices, useful for any health professional in today's medical field. The terms and definitions cover the five major areas of complementary and alternative medicine, as outlined by the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine of the National Institutes of Health: 1) alternative health care systems; 2) mind-body interventions; 3) biologically based therapies; 4) manipulative and body-based healing methods; and 5) energy therapies. This dictionary is intended to be a quick and ready reference to the common terms used in those medical and healing practices that lie outside of conventional medicine. It's ideal for conventional health professionals who need to quickly find definitions of common CAM terms and descriptions of their meaning. It is also a handy reference for those in introductory courses on CAM in medical, nursing, and allied health schools, as well as the interested lay consumer. Provides a comprehensive resource for improving communication among practitioners of various disciplines and between patients and their health care providers. Approximately 6,600 terms are listed. Both general and "first level" specialized terms are included. Over 500 illustrations visually represent the terms and concepts within, and extensive appendices provide quick, easy-to-use resources on CAM specialties. 23 appendices explore the history, theory, and practice of numerous systems of complementary and alternative medicine, and an additional appendix provides the latest information on HIPAA regulations. The most common concepts and terms in use around the world were selected, and both definitions and descriptions of their meaning are included. Provides up-to-date definitions of terms, including the current definitions for archaic terms. Coverage includes terms used throughout CAM literature and terms commonly found in areas of the world where conventional medicine predominates. If necessary, descriptive information about the term and practice has been provided, going above and beyond the standard definition format. All entries have been thoroughly scrutinized and edited by Wayne Jonas, a leading figure and recognized expert in CAM. A pronunciation guide for key entries is located in the front of the dictionary, and pronunciations follow the terms when necessary. Synonyms help users understand the terms. Portable size creates the convenience needed in a chairside reference. Thumb bleeds for each letter in the alphabet aid in locating definitions more quickly. Flexible cover increases durability.
International Dictionary of Homeopathy by
The International Dictionary of Homeopathy provides an authoritative and up-to-date compilation of homeopathy terms and concepts. This definitive reference has assembled an international consensus on the definitions or interpretations of concepts dealing with homeopathy principles and practice, through the help of an international panel of experts. A valuable reference tool for homeopathic practitioners, this dictionary will also help introduce or integrate homeopathy into mainstream medical practice by providing a concrete source for referencing concise information on homeopathy. It reconciles conceptual differences and inconsistencies, and provides a unifying and progressive influence on the development of homeopathic medicine.
Encyclopedia of complementary and alternative medicine by
In addition to the A-Z entries, included are appendixes on professional and lay organizations, a report from the American Medical Association, a new National Institutes of Health study, a listing of herbs used in CAM, NCCAM's five year strategic plan 2002-2005, and a historic timeline of CAM.
Encyclopedia of complementary health practice by
Includes contemporary issues in complementary health practices, conditions, influential substances, practices and treatments, contributor and resource directories, and an extensive reference list.
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine 4 vols by
Alphabetical listing of conditions and treatments. Entries for conditions include definition, description, causes and symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, allopathic treatment, expected results, prevention, and a list of references. Entries for treatments include definition, origins, benefits, description, precautions, research and general acceptance, training and certification, and resources.
Databases at UMD Libraries
These are just some of the databases that the University of Maryland College Park offers in Public and Community Health. To see more databases covering these areas of study, use Database Finder, Journal Finder, and/or Citation Finder.
Free Databases from the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
