It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The American Jewess (1895-1899) described itself as "the only magazine in the world devoted to the interests of Jewish women." It was the first English-language periodical targeted to American Jewish women, covering an evocative range of topics that ranged from women's place in the synagogue to whether women should ride bicycles. Founded and edited by Rosa Sonneschein (1847-1932), it offered the first sustained critique, by Jewish women, of genera inequities in Jewish worship and communcal life. Assembled and digitized by the Jewish Women's Archive, this digital reproduction of the 8 volumes of The American Jewess was assembled from the collections of Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion Klau Library, Brandeis University Libraries, the Library of Congress, and the Jewish Women's Archive. Time span: 1895-1899.
The Jewish National and University Library, David and Fela Shapell Family Digitization Project, is pleased to offer access to its Historic Hebrew Newspapers project. The aim of this site is to provide open access to images of the major titles of the early Hebrew press (19th and early 20th century). These newspapers contain a wealth of primary material on Diaspora and Land of Israel history of the period.
This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. We display digital versions of each newspaper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication. Newspapers: Ha-Melitz, Ha-Zefira, Ha-Zman, Davar, Ha-Magid, Ha-Levanon, Israël, Ha-Zvi, Bulletin de l'Alliance, Palestine Post more...
The Jerusalem Post is a broadsheet newspaper based in Israel, publishing only English and French editions. It is one of the main newspapers of Israel. It is published from Sunday to Friday, with no edition appearing on Saturday (the Jewish Sabbath) and Jewish religious holidays. Regular opinion columnists write on subjects such as religion, foreign affairs and economics. In its earlier form, 1932-1950, it was called The Palestine Post, and was founded in 1932 by Gershon Agron. In 1950, two years after the State of Israel was declared, the paper was renamed The Jerusalem Post.
Founded in 1841, the Jewish Chronicle - often known as the JC – is the world's oldest and most influential Jewish newspaper. With no proprietor nor commercial shareholders, its editorial independence is guaranteed by the Jewish Chronicle Trust.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project (PJN) is a unique, free, searchable fulltext archive that documents the history and life of the Jewish community in Pittsburgh and southwestern Pennsylvania. To date, it is a digital archive of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962) and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-present).
UM holdings: 1841-2007. For more than 150 years the English-language Jewish Chronicle, published weekly in London, has offered continuous coverage of Jewish affairs. Registering the struggles and successes of Jewish communities throughout the world, its pages have provided definitive coverage of news since 1841 Publication suspended from May 20, 1842 until Oct. 18, 1844; continued in 1844 by: Jewish chronicle and working man’s friend; continued by in 1845 by Jewish chronicle.
Digitized and fully searchable collections of early American newspapers. Includes two databases, Early American Newspapers Series 1 - 3 and African American Newspapers which can be searched together or separately. Early American Newspapers includes more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922. African American Newspaper includes more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Full text images of over 1,100 colonial and early American magazines and periodicals spanning from colonial times to the mid 20th century. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal. Useful for the study of American history, literature, culture, sciences and social sciences. Time span: 1740-1900
Searchable full-text of the New York Times (1851-2005), Washington Post (1877-1988), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986); Chicago Tribune (1849-1986); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Detroit Free Press (1831-1922); St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922), Indianapolis Star (1903-1922); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); New York Tribune (1841-1922); Hartford Courant (1764-1984) and many others.