Jewish and Israel Studies

This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. A later edition is available at McKeldin Library Reference Stacks DS102.8 .J65 1925

"These three volumes are an abridgment of the multi-volume Encyclopedia of Jewish Communities published in Hebrew by Yad Vashem"

The The Lexicon of Modern Hebrew Literature is compiled by Joseph Garlon-Goldschlager and is hosted by the Ohio State University. It provides short biographies and bibliographies of works of Modern Hebrew writers. The site is in Hebrew.

This volume, which constitutes the third in the series Jewish Research Literature, is divided into two parts. Part One offers detailed descriptions of the various Judaic dictionaries with biographical information on their compilers, beginning with Rav Saadiah Gaon's early tenth-century Egron and concluding with modern dictionaries compiled in recent years. Bibliographical lists and summaries, arranged chronologically according to date of publication, supplement the text. The narrative is written in nontechnical style, but technical information appears in the footnotes. Part Two, which deals with concordances, citation collections, proverbs, and folk sayings, will appear separately.

This new edition of the prize-winning Encyclopaedia of Judaism is nearly double in size to the original three-volume edition. It features 52 new entries and includes the two separately published supplementary volumes and bibliographic updates.This second edition offers an authoritative, comprehensive, and systematic presentation of the current state of scholarship on fundamental issues of Judaism, both past and present. While heavy emphasis is placed on the classical literature of Judaism and its history, this edition also includes principal entries on circumcision, genetic engineering, homosexuality, intermarriage in American Judaism, and other acutely contemporary issues.Articles are written in essay form, and many are illustrated for further emphasis. The elaborate index facilitates ready access to significant people, places, and other factual information. This invaluable reference work is written for an audience from all backgrounds, scholars and general readers alike.

Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.

"The Encyclopedia of Hasidism is the first and only comprehensive English-language reference work of its kind to cover all aspects of Hasidism. Included are biographical entries on the great hasidic leaders of past and present generations and a wealth of information on hasidic principles, customs, and lore." "This encyclopedia includes biographies of hasidic leaders of the past two hundred years - from the founder of the movement, Rabbi Israel Baal Shem Tov, to the leaders of the different dynasties of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. Cross-referencing refers the reader to other entries containing essential supplementary material, and many entries have a select bibliography that refers the reader to other related works in both English and foreign languages."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved