Research Guides: Jewish and Israel Studies: Archival materials, books, pamhlets, broadsides.....

Electronic collections specific to Jewish and Israel Studies

#DHJewish: Jewish Studies and Digital Humanities
The #DHJewish - Jewish Studies and Digital Humanities website offers a single access point to news, events and projects on the intersection of Jewish Studies and Digital Humanities. Furthermore, we provide access to a DHJewish Zotero bibliography and online community on Zulip.
Alliance Israélite Universelle, Bibliotheque
Digital resources include small digital library of Judeo-Spanish short novels. Holdings of the entire library can be viewed in their online catalog RACHEL, which include some very unique resources.
American Jewish Historical Society Digital Archives
The American Jewish Historical Society participates in the Digital Repository at the Center for Jewish History. The Digital Collections include photographs, scrapbooks, text images, finding aids, memorabilia, audio, etc.
Berman Jewish Policy Archive
Open access to a growing library of 4500+ policy-relevant documents from leading authors, journals, and organizations. The Berman Jewish Policy Archive (BJPA) at NYU's Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service aspires to become the central electronic address for everyone with an interest in Jewish communal policy. The BJPA @ NYU Wagner offers a vast collection of policy-relevant research and analysis on Jewish life to the public, free of charge.
Central Bureau of Statistics, Israel
Includes Last Months Indices, Census of Population and Housing, Monthly Bulletin of Prices, Monthly Bulletin of Statistics, the Statistical Abstract, Economic and Financial indicators and other selected data.
Collection "Yiddish Prints"
The Collection "Yiddish Prints" contains about 800 very valuable Yiddish books that belong to the Frankfurt University Library. The texts were printed in Hebrew letters in West, Central and East Europe. The dates range from the middle of the 16th century to the beginning of the 20th century. The collection contains the whole spectrum of yiddish books, women's bibles in yiddish translation, liturgy, practical guide books, works on religious customs, legends, chronicles & classical Jewish fiction.

Bar Ilan Responsa
The world's largest electronic collection of Jewish texts in Hebrew ever recorded, which embody thousands of years of Jewish learning.
Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons, 1936-1945
This collection consists of items, including letters; receipts for parcels; money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia (including Star of David Badges that Jews were forced to wear), originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.

Hannah Arendt Papers at the Library of Congress
The entire collection has been digitized and is available in reading rooms at the Library of Congress, the New School University in New York City, and the Hannah Arendt Center at the University of Oldenburg, Germany. Parts of the collection will be made available for public access on the Internet.
Governments on the WWW-Israel
Includes links to general resources, national institutions, municipal institutions, representatives in foreign countries, political parties, and other varieties of information.

Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration Digital Archive
The Committee's purpose was to facilitate involuntary emigration from Germany and Austria of persons who must emigrate on account of their political opinions, religious beliefs, or racial origin, and persons who already have left their country of origin and who have not yet established themselves permanently elsewhere. The discussions represented a historic first on behalf of would-be refugees and are divided into four sections, each containing primary source correspondence, memoranda, reports and government documents. Meeting records, 1943-1947; Country files , 1938-1941; Subject files, 1938-1944; Administration files, 1943-1948.

Jewish Digital Library (JDL) of Serbia
The Serbian Jewish Digital Library repository currently has 1,394 digital items. The aim of the repository is to provide open access to publications and other material related to Jewish heritage in Serbia and other former Yugoslav states and territories.

Jerusalem Institute for Israel Studies
JIIS is an independent, non-profit organization. It provides a constant flow of relevant, essential and accurate data, in-depth background material, policy papers and professional analysis for use by decision makers and the general public.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
An Indispensable resource for all those interested in understanding and exploring the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they pay today It makes available to scholars some of the American Jewish Historical Society's most important and valuable archival collections.

Jewish Music Research Center
The Jewish Music Research Centre (JMRC) is an academic institution dedicated to the documentation, research, and publication of scholarly materials about music conceived, performed, and consumed within Jewish social frameworks in the past and present. It is located at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel.
more...less...
There are a number of digitized music collections, including: Eastern Mediterranean Judeo-Spanish Songs from the EMI Archive Trust (1907-1912); The Liturgy of Beta Israel: Music of the Ethiopian Jewish Prayer; Arba Otiyot; Or Haganuz: Gems of Ashkenazi Hazzanut and Yiddish Songs Revived, and many more.
Jewish National and University Library Digital Collections
Digitized historical collections of books, periodicals, maps, broadsides, etc.
JTS Digital Collections
Several digitized collections, some partcially. Includes "News About Jews," a collection of Early American Jewish newspapers; "Judaica Americana," a collection of pamphlets going back to 1725; "Ketubbot Collection"; "Rare Prints," Biblical print collection and portraiture print collection; and JTS Library exhibits.

Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection
This collection consists of original documents, including leaflets and handbill, printed proclamations and resolutions, circular letters and more, collected over a period of approximately 30 years dealing primarily with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate from communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.
National Yiddish Book Center
Online access to the full texts of nearly 11,000 out-of-print Yiddish titles in literature, history, philosophy, art, education, biography, and many other subjects.

Language and Culture Archive of Ashkenazic Jewry (LCAAJ)
An extraordinary resource for research in Yiddish studies, collected between 1959 and 1972 and ca. The data that constitutes the LCAAJ was collected from 603 locations in Central and Eastern Europe carefully chosen to reflect the distribution of the Yiddish speaking population on the eve of World War II. This digital collection contains images of the written data portion of the archive. Please note that the written data is mostly single word answers, as would have been necessary for use by the project directors.
more...less...
For the entire audio of the interviews, please go to the EYDES (Evidence for Yiddish Documentation in European Society) website: http://eydes.de/Usr08DEA512IY/.
Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text & Image
SCETI was developed at the University of Pennsylvania to provide the scholarly community with web access to virtual facsimiles of original texts, documents, and sources from Penn's collections. Judaica projects include Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Music Archive and manuscripts from the Lawrence C. Schoenberg Collection.
Sephardi Studies Project
The purpose of this Digitized Ladino Library is to place on the Internet a corpus of Ladino printed books, or even a few manuscripts, for easy access by scholars as well as students of Ladino throughout the world. A project of Taube Center for Jewish Studies in conjunction with the Mediterranean Studies Forum, both at Stanford University.
Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
This online catalog provides access to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive. The Archive serves as a comprehensive informational and archival resource worldwide for moving image materials pertaining to the Holocaust and related aspects of World War II. Staff continue to locate, acquire, preserve, and document archival film footage from sources throughout the United States and abroad.
Yerusha, European Jewish Archives Forum
Yerusha is a collaborative effort of European, US, and Israeli academic and heritage institutions. Jewish museums and libraries, state archives, higher education departments, and research centers have joined forces to create a central platform providing detailed information on centuries of European Jewish archival heritage.
Yizkor (Holocaust Memorial) Books from the New York Public Library
The yizkor book holdings of The New York Public Library are the most extensive in the United States, with upwards of 90% of the titles listed in Baker's bibliography. The Library, in partnership with the National Yiddish Book Center, is digitizing collection. Digital images of the full text of the yizkor books in the collection are freely available on the Library's website, and copies of out-of-print titles are also obtainable as "reprints on demand" from National Yiddish Book Center.

Large print and microform collections at UM

Each of these collections will have a print guide to them which are housed in McKeldin Reference section under the same call numbers as the collections themselves.

Anglo-Judaic pamphlets from the Jewish Theological Seminary
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfiche | DS135.E5.....
A collection of 1425 pamphlets, each cataloged separately, and have its own listing in the Catalog. In the Catalog do a title search for "Anglo-Judaic pamphlets."
Documents on the foreign policy of Israel = Teʻudot li-mediniyut ha-ḥuts shel Medinat Yiśraʼel by Yehoshuʻa Froindlikh
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks | DS119.6 .T48 1981
14 vol set
Herstory = Women’s history collection. From the International Women’s History Archives, Berkeley, California.
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | HQ1426 .H4
Microfilm of the International Women’s History Archives organized by the Women’s History Library. Includes women’s liberation and women’s civic, religious, professional and peace journals, newspapers and newsletter from all over the world and published from 1956 through Sept. 1971.
History of Women
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | HQ1121 .H5
A huge collection. Covers multitude of topics. Each book in this collection is catalog separately in the Catalog.
Israel’s foreign relations. by Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks | DS119.6 .I87
v.1-18 (1947/1974-1999/2001)
Jüdisches biographisches Archiv [microform] = Jewish biographical archive by Pinchas Lapide
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfiche | DS115 .J841 1994
Kulliët : iborat az ḣaft jild = Works. 2006 by Muḣib
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks | PJ5089.29 .M84 2006
ISBN: 9657188385
Collected works by an important Bukharian Jewish scholar.
Montefiore collection of Hebrew manuscripts in the library of Jews’ College, London
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm Microfiche | Z6605.H4 M66 1994a
Printed Guide: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks | Z6605.H4 M66 1994a.
A copy of the Descriptive catalogue of the Hebrew MSS. of the Montefiore Library and of the Hebrew manuscripts in the Jews’ College, London, also accompanies the microfiche.
Papers, 1909-1989,(bulk 1914-1963) [microform]. by Silver, Abba Hillel, 1893-1963.
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | BM755.S544 A25 1909a
Consists of personal and professional correspondence, sermons, writings, speaking engagements files, scrapbooks and miscellaneous personal material. The bulk of the material is in the correspondence series and includes minutes, publications, reports, financial statements and confidential notes relating to Rabbi Silver’s participation in numerous local and national organizations, especially Zionist groups. Important material relating to the American Zionist Emergency Council, the Zionist Organization of America, the Jewish Agency for Palestine, the United Jewish Appeal, United Palestine Appeal and the American Zionist Policy Committee is found in the collection. Also included is significant material relating to Cleveland Jewish organizations and other civic groups, such as The Temple (Temple-Tifereth Israel), Cleveland Bureau of Jewish Education, the Jewish Community Council, the Jewish Welfare Federation of Cleveland, and the Cleveland Zionist Society. In addition, the collection contains an extensive file of Silver’s speeches, sermons, books, articles and other writings on Zionism, Judaism and other topics, and assorted material relating to Silver’s personal life.
Sephardic editions, c. 1550-1820 [microform] : Spanish and Portuguese books written and/or published by Sephardic Jews of Early modern Europe
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfiche | DS135.S7 S474 2002
Collection of 119 titles (monographs and serials) written or printed by the Iberian Jews in the major centers of the Western Sephardic Diaspora. Includes all genres and reflects both religious and secular cultures.
Available vol/issues appear on separate records in the CATALOG under the above title or call number, as well as the titles of individual vol/issues.
Steinschneider collection of the Jewish Theological Seminary [microform]. by Jewish Theological Seminary of America. Library.
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | DS102.5 .J48 1972
Summary: Consists primarily of works edited by Moritz Steinschneider, a nineteenth-century German scholar and bibliographer of Jewish history and of Jewish contributions to mankind’s intellectual progress. Among his other interests were the history of medieval and renaissance Europe, and medieval Middle Eastern civilization. Includes a complete run of Steinschneider’s Hebräische Bibliographie as well as his independent treatises and articles. The works come from his personal library and contain numerous marginal notations in his own hand.
The immigrant in America [microform] Unit 7, Jews.
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | E184.J5 I456 1988
23 microfilm reels. Filmed from the holdings of the New York Public Library.
The Jewish emigration from Ukraine, 1900-1917 [microform] : documents of the Kiev Jewish Emigration Society : from the holdings of the State Archive of Kiev Oblast, Kiev, Ukraine = [Evreiskaia emigratsiia iz Ukrainy, 1895-1917, Kiev, Ukraine].
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | DS135.U4 J49 2004
Primarily in Russian, some in English, German and Hebrew. 59 microfilm reels. At UMCP, accompanied by a printed reel guide entitled: Documents on the Jewish emigration from Ukraine, 1895-1917, located in McKeldin Reference under the call number: DS135.U4J49 2004 Guide.
The Jews in Sicily by Shlomo Simonsohn
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks | DS135.I85 S526 1997
ISBN: 9004109773
Volumes 1 through 12. v. 1. 383-1300 -- v. 2. 1302-1391 -- v. 4. 1415-1439 -- v. 5. 1440-1457 -- v. 6. 1458-1477 -- v. 7. 1478-1489 -- v. 8. 1490-1497 -- v. 9. Corte pretoriana and notaries of Palermo -- v. 10. Notaries of Palermo, pt. 1 -- v. 11. Notaries of Palermo, pt. 2 -- v. 12. Notaries of Palermo, pt. 3.
The papers of Isaac Mayer Wise [microform]. by Wise, Isaac Mayer, 1819-1900.
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | BM755.W5 P36 1981
Reel 1. Correspondence, 1847-1900.--Reel 2. Hebrew Union College reports, 1876-1900. Manuscripts. Contributions to monographs, 1879-1896. Reel 3. Monographs, 1852-1864.--Reel 4. Monographs, 1866-1869.--Reel 5. Monographs, 1872-1883.--Reel 6. Monographs, 1884-1901.--Reel 7. Contributions to serials, 1847-1899.--Reel 8. The Israelite editorial pages, 1854-1864.--Reel 9. American Israelite editorial pages, 1865-1875.--Reel 10. American Israelite editorial pages, 1876-1884.--Reel 11. American Israelite editorial pages, 1885-1900.--Reel 12. Die Deborah editorial pages, 1855-1864.--Reel 13. Die Deborah editorial pages, 1865-1875.--Reel 14. Die Deborah editorial pages, 1876-1887.--Reel 15. Die Deborah editorial pages, 1888-1900.
Trial of the major war criminals before the International Military Tribunal, Nuremberg, 14 November 1945-1 October 1946.
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks | D804.G42 I56
Trial against H.W. Göring, R. Hess, J. von Ribbentrop, R. Ley, W. Keitel, E. Kaltenbrunner, A. Rosenberg, H. Frank, W. Frick, J. Streicher, W. Funk, H. Schacht, G. Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach, K. Dönitz, E. Raeder, B. von Schirach, F. Sauckel, A. Jodl, M. Bormann, F. von Papen, A. Seyss-Inquart, A. Speer, C. von Neurath, and H. Fritzsche, individually and as members of any groups or organizations to which they belonged. "Documents admitted in evidence are printed only in their original language." Includes bibliographical references.
contents: v. 1. Official documents -- v. 2-22. Proceedings -- v. 23. Chronological and subject index -- v. 24. Document & name index -- v. 25-42. Documents and other material in evidence.