Research Guides: Jewish and Israel Studies: Biographical information

Background information

There are many places one can find biographies of famous and important individuals. Here are some suggestions:

In this section you will find a list of selected biographical reference sources. This list is selective. For more biographical reference resources, including biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, please search the UMD Discover.
Many subject specific and general encyclopedias will include articles on individuals who made various contributions in those areas. For more information on encyclopedias and dictionaries please see Encyclopedias & dictionaries subsection of the Reference Sources section in this guide.
Books are a very important source in finding biographical information on people, particularly if you can find a biography, autobiography or a memoir. See "Books" section of this guide on how to find books. To find biographies on your subject, search the Subject Word/s field in the UMD Discover or WorldCat for the name of your person or for the terms such as "jew* AND biography."

Electronic databases

Modern Hebrew Literature - a Bio-Bibliographical Lexicon
The The Lexicon of Modern Hebrew Literature is compiled by Joseph Garlon-Goldschlager and is hosted by the Ohio State University. It provides short biographies and bibliographies of works of Modern Hebrew writers. The site is in Hebrew.

Print indexes

Biography index. by Bea Joseph, H.W. Wilson Company
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks | Z5301 .B5
ISBN: 00063053
Publication Date: 1949
Jüdischer biographischer Index by Hilmar Schmuck
Call Number: McKeldin Library Folio | DS115 .J84 1998
ISBN: 3598336160
Publication Date: 1998
Jüdisches biographisches Archiv [microform] = Jewish biographical archive by advising editor, Pinchas Lapide ; editor, Hilmar Schmuck
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfiche | DS115 .J841 1994
ISBN: 3598336047
The Great Torah Commentators by Avraham Yaakov Finkel
Call Number: McKeldin Library Folio | BM750 .F53 1990
ISBN: 0876688415
Publication Date: 1989-11-01
As author Avraham Yaakov Finkel says in his introduction to The Great Torah Commentators, no words are adequate to describe the Torah. 'Only by actually tasting the words of our sages, by biting into them, can we gain an insight into the profound wisdom and beauty of the Torah. The selections in this book are intended to serve as tidbits to arouse the reader's appetite to study the masters from their sources.'
Who's Who in the Talmud by Shulamis Frieman
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks | BM501.15 .F75 1995
ISBN: 1568211139
Publication Date: 2000-04-01
This exceptional work, with entries from Rav Abba to Rav Zutra, is an unprecedented study of every rabbi in the Talmud. The reader will find concise entries on every rabbinic personality mentioned in the Talmud, major and minor alike, and will discover such facts as their dates of birth, education, and occupation. Most entries are accompanied by a brief story about the rabbinic personality, with sources cited for easy reference.
Who's Who in Jewish History by Joan Comay; Lavinia Cohn-Sherbok
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks | DS115 .C6 2001
ISBN: 9780415260305
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
From Karl Marx to the Marx Brothers Who's Who in Jewish History presents a complete reference guide to over a thousand prominent men and women who have shaped Jewish culture.