Skip to main content

Japanese Studies

This guides primarily describes resources available at the UMD Libraries for research on Japanese Studies. The guide also directs researchers to collections and resources beyond the UMD Libraries.

Find Thesis and Dissertations

IRDB (Institutional Repositories DataBase) - This database allows you to search Japanese institutional depositories, for departmental bulletin, thesis, dissertations, and conference papers. [Full-text and Index]  

CiNii Dissertations - This database allows you to search Japanese doctoral dissertations held and digitized by the National Diet Library of Japan (NDL), as well as the doctoral dissertations held by each university's institutional repository. [Full-text and Index] 

The National Diet Library (NDL) Digital Collections (Doctoral Dissertations) - It contains 1) doctoral dissertations that were received by the NDL between 1991-2000, and digitized; and 2) Doctoral dissertations in digital format for which degrees were conferred in or after April 2013. See this list for more information.  [Full-text] 

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Catalog - CRL holds newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other materials. Its holdings also include over 8000,000 doctoral dissertations. [Full-text and Index]   

Dissertations & Theses Global - It represents dissertations and theses from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. [Full-text and Index]