Skip to main content

Japanese Studies

This guides primarily describes resources available at the UMD Libraries for research on Japanese Studies. The guide also directs researchers to collections and resources beyond the UMD Libraries.

Government Documents and Records - ONLINE

Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan - The Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs collects, classifies, and preserves Japan’s diplomatic records and makes them available to the public for perusal.  [Index only]  

Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JCAHR) - JACAR is a digital archive of Asian historical records.  JACAR has built and operates an online database for releasing Asian historical records, that are historical documents of Japan concerning to the modern Japanese relations with other countries, particularly those in Asia. The documents of the archive are provided by the National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, and the National Institute for Defense Studies of the Ministry of Defense of Japan.  [Full-text and Index]  

National Archives of Japan Digital Archives - National Archives of Japan preserves government documents and records of importance. [Full-text and Index]  

National Diet Library Digital Collections - The NDL Digital Collections enables a user to search and view a variety of resources, collected and stored by the National Diet Library of Japan.  The Digital Collections includes Official Gazette (官報) of the Japanese Government.  Japanese official gazettes are included in this collection from the first issue published on July 2, 1883 to the issue of April 30, 1952 (gazettes published in later years are available in インターネット版 官報). English edition of Official Gazette was published only during the Occupation of Japan period (1946-1952). [Full-text and Index]  

Government Documents and Records - MICROFILM

The microfilms are stored in the Severn Library, the UMD Libraries' offsite library.  You need to request the retrieval of microfilms to the McKeldin Libary prior to your visit. 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SCAP directives to the Imperial Japanese Government [Tokyo : General Headquarters, Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers]

Foreign Office files for Japan and the Far East. Series two, British Foreign Office files for post-war Japan (1952-1971) - The contents listing webpage available.