Skip to main content

Japanese Studies

This guides primarily describes resources available at the UMD Libraries for research on Japanese Studies. The guide also directs researchers to collections and resources beyond the UMD Libraries.

Find newspaper articles - ONLINE

Asahi Shimbun Kikuzo II - Asahi Shinbun articles (1879-present), Aera & Shukan Asahi (1984-present), Chiezo (current issue), Who’s Who, Historical Photo Archive (1931-1945), Asahi Graph(1923-1956), English-language News (2001-present). [Full-text]    

Factiva - Full-text access to over 8,000 business sources including national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites and industry (trade) sources. The example newspapers are: The Wall Street Journal Japanese edition , Dow Jones Newswires in Japanese. [Full-text]   

Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection - The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is currently the world's largest online archive of open-access; full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America. It is administered by the Japanese Diaspora initiative. Hoover institution Library & Archives, Stanford University. [Full-text]  

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life - The 25 titles in this collection document the experiences of interned Japanese-Americans from 1942-1945. [Full-text]     

The Japan News by the Yomiuri Shimbun - The Japan News is an English-language daily newspaper published by the Yomiuri Shimbun.  It was launched in 1955, and was long known as The Daily Yomiuri until 2013.  Only recent articles may be searchable in the website. [Full-text]  

The Mainichi - The Mainichi Newspapers is one of the largest daily newspapers in Japan.  Only recent articles may be searchable in the website.  [Full-text]  

Nexis Uni - Nexis Uni provides full-text to news, business, and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970s.  It includes: Japan company Handbook, Japan Corporate News Network (JCNN), Japan Economic Foundation, Japan Economic Newswire, Japan Government News, The Japan News, the Japan Times, Japanese Business Digest, Japanese World, and Nikkei Asian Review. [Full-text]   

Newspaper Clippings Collection at Kobe University Library - The collection of newspaper clippings from the end of Meiji to Showa 45 (1970).  Some older newspaper clippings have been digitized.  See this inventory of newspaper titles and their publication years.  [Full-text]