So Important:
1. Use a Citation Manager - Zotero / Mendeley
2. Document / keep track of the databases and search strategies you use - save yourself time by keeping track so you do not duplicate your work
3. Conduct Citation Chasing - following references - backwards and forwards - and authors
this is the best way to build your bibliography
Follow up on the references and then go to google scholar to see who has cited the original publication
Use keywords from your project interests and when you have the official client project description.
Don't forget to check the main tabs for details:
google tips- use site:gov or site:org or site:edu
CRS Reports - use the Congressional Publications database or google using your keywords and add - crs reports
searching multiple databases - search mulitple EbscoHost databases together
searching multile databases - search multiple ProQuest databases together
For many of your topics - you might want/need to search ALL the Ebsco databses at once
Ebsco tip: too many results? add more keywords / change search field to AB Abstract / Limit to United states = "united states" or usa or u.s. and change search field to AB Abstract
Filter = Geography
Proquest tip: change search field from Anywhere to - Anywhere except full text / Abstract / filter = Location = United States or "united states" or usa or u.s. = Abstract
Web of Science tip: change search field from All Fields to Topic
Use - Abstract when focusing on a geographic area
Identify one or two relevant articles - check the abstract / subject words and incorporate into your search if necessary
Newspaper Articles:
Nexis Uni - see the main tabs for details on search strategies and how to get to Law Reviews and University Wire
National Newspapers Core (Washington Post / WSJ / Baltimore Sun)
Remember - you will always retrieve documents that are not relevant!
Please email me with any questions
Judy
All the Ebsco databases
Proquest:
Pais
Public Health Database
Criminal Justice Database
Ethnic Newswatch
Sociological Abstracts
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
Publicaly Availalbe Content Database
Web of Science
Nexis Uni - Law Reviews
Search strategy:
"homeless court*"
google: site:gov / org/ edu
Suggested databases:
Ebsco:
Academic Search Ultimate
Business Source Complete
Communication and Mass Media
E-Journals
EconLit
E-Book Collections
International Political Science Abstracts
MasterFILE Premier
Military and Government Collection
Regional Business News
SocINDEX
ProQuest:
PAIS
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
Change search field to Abstract or Anywhere except full text
Web of Science
Change search field to Topic
Possible search strategy:
Agile
and
government or "federal agenc*"
and
framework or model or theory
Can also add
"case stud*"
google
agile government site:org /edu / gov
GAO report
https://www.gao.gov/press-release/what-does-it-mean-be-agile-federal-government
All the Ebsco databases
possible search strategies:
"creative placemaking"
and
"case stud*"
---------------------
creative
and
placemaking
and
crime or criminal* or violence
--------------------
Web of Science
possible search strategy
"creative placemaking"
and
"case stud*"
"creative placemaking* crime site:org / gov / edu
All Ebsco databases
Proquest:
PAIS
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
Possible search strategy:
Change search field to Abstract in Ebsco/ Anywhere except full test in Proquest
"Senior Executive Service"
and
evaluat* or assessment
CRS Report
https://sgp.fas.org/crs/misc/R41801.pdf
google scholar = 55 cited by
google:
"Asian American Government Executives Network" mentor* site:edu / gov / org
possible article - have to request via ILL:
https://usmai-umcp.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01USMAI_UMCP/18kfj8l/cdi_proquest_journals_1317996582
Llorens, J. J. (2012). Uncovering the role of public sector employee associations in addressing issues of diversity and representation. Journal of Public Management & Social Policy, 18(1), 47.
Google scholar - cited by 4)
https://obamawhitehouse.archives.gov/sites/default/files/docs/accomplishment_report_feb_2015.pdf - maybe
All Ebsco databases:
"Asian American and Pacific Islander*" or AAPI
and
mentor*
All Ebsco databases
Proquest:
PAIS
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
Web of Science
Possible search strategy
government or "federal agenc*"
and
"shared service*"
and
indicator* or insight*
google
"shared service" government insight site:gov / org / edu
"shared service" government insight crs reports
