So Important:
1. Use a Citation Manager - Zotero / Mendeley
2. Document / keep track of the databases and search strategies you use - save yourself time by keeping track so you do not duplicate your work
3. Conduct Citation Chasing - following references - backwards and forwards - and authors
this is the best way to build your bibliography
Follow up on the references and then go to google scholar to see who has cited the original publication
Use keywords from your project interests and when you have the official client project description.
Don't forget to check the main tabs for details:
google tips- use site:gov or site:org or site:edu
CRS Reports - use the Congressional Publications database or google using your keywords and add - crs reports
searching multiple databases - search mulitple EbscoHost databases together
searching multile databases - search multiple ProQuest databases together
For many of your topics - you might want/need to search ALL the Ebsco databses at once
Ebsco tip: too many results? add more keywords / change search field to AB Abstract / Limit to United states = "united states" or usa or u.s. and change search field to AB Abstract
Filter = Geography
Proquest tips: change search field from Anywhere to:
All Abstract and Summary Text
or
Anywhere except full text /
or
Abstract
filter = Location = United States or "united states" or usa or u.s. = Abstract
Web of Science tip: change search field from All Fields to:
Topic
or
Abstract
Use - Abstract when focusing on a geographic area
Identify one or two relevant articles - check the abstract / subject words and incorporate into your search if necessary
Newspaper Articles:
Nexis Uni - see the main tabs for details on search strategies and how to get to Law Reviews and University Wire
National Newspapers Core (Washington Post / WSJ / Baltimore Sun)
Remember - you will always retrieve documents that are not relevant!
Please email me with any questions
Judy
All Ebsco databases
Proquest:
PAIS
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
Sociological Abstracts
Web of Science
Possible search strategy:
"housing choice voucher program" or "section 8"
and
supply or demand or cost*
CRS Reports
"housing choice voucher program" cost* crs reports
Google
" housing choice voucher program" cost* site:gov / org / edu
Ebsco databases
Academic Search Ultimate
APA Psycinfo
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
E-Journals
Education Source
ERIC
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
MasterFILE Premier
Medline
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
SocIndex
Proquest databases:
PAIS
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
Public Health
Sociological Abstracts
Web of Science
change search field to Abstract
Possible search strategies:
"foster care"
and
support* or transtion*
and
youth or aging
and
out
------------------
"foster care"
and
"aging out"
and
support* or transition*
-----------
CRS Reports
"foster care" aging out crs reports
google
"foster care" aging out site:org / gov / edu
Ebsco databases
Academic Search Ultimate
APA PsycInfo
Criminal Justice Abstracts
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Medline
SocIndex
Proquest databases
PAIS
Public Health
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
Possible search strategies:
"mental health court"
and
"district of columbia" or DC - change search field to Abstract
only two results (Ebsco) / 8 results (Proquest)
--------
"mental health court"
and
outcome* or effect* or impact (or any other relevant keywords)
change search field to Abstract or All Abstract and Summary Text
Really good example of using Citation Chasing
Wales, Heathcote W., Virginia Aldigé Hiday, and Bradley Ray. 2010. “Procedural Justice and the Mental Health Court Judge’s Role in Reducing Recidivism.” International Journal of Law & Psychiatry 33 (4): 265–71
once in the cited by results
search within
'district of columbia" or DC
google
"mental health court*" "district of columbia" site:org / gov / edu
CRS Reports
"mental health court*" "district of columbia" crs reports
Ebsco databases
Academic Search Ultimate
Business Source Complete
E-Journals
EconLit
E-Book Collections
MasterFILE Premier
Regional Business News
SocINDEX
Proquest
Black Studies Periodical Database
Ethnic Newswatch
PAIS
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
Sociological Abstracts
Web of Science
Possible search strategies:
workplace or job or employment
and
"African American*"
and
equity or opportunit*
----------
workplace or job or employment
and
"African American*"
and
equity or opportunit*
and
program* or services or resources
CRS Reports
"african american*" equity workplace crs reports
Google
"african american*" equity workplace site:org / gov / edu
All Ebsco databases
Proquest
Criminal Justice Database
Ethnic Newswatch
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
Sociological Abstracts
Possible search strategies
"homeland security" or CP3
and
radicalization or radicalism
and
school* or education
--------
and
program* or solution or prevent*
google:
CP3 radicalism school* site:org / gov / edu
"homeland security" radicalism school* site:org
