Research Guides: Public Policy: National Newspapers Core Database

National Newspapers Core Database

National Newspapers Core
Search Strategies - Topic

To read the Washington Post, New York Times and Wall Street Journal, use the National Newspapers Core database.

National Newspapers Core
Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Sun (Baltimore), and The Washington Post. Covers national, international and local news. The NYT provides text of important speeches and documents; WSJ reports on international finance; and WP offers strong political reporting, editorials and columnists.

Once in the database, click on Advanced Search

Enter the title of the newspaper in the first line
Change the search field (in) from Anywhere to Publication Title
Change the date
Search

If you want to find articles from the Washington Post on a particular topic - add the keywords to the 2nd line.

This example shows searching within the washington post for "foreign affairs" wihin the last 7 days
(The quotes around foreign affairs means the phrase will be searched)

Similar to Nexis Uni, because this is a full text database, using - and - to connect your concepts will, in most cases, result in a large number of items and many will not be relevant.

Best to try and bring the word/s closer together and/or change the search field.

To bring the words closer together use N/#
"renewable energy" N/5 subsid*

Used alone, NEAR defaults to NEAR/4.
Important to know: When you shorten NEAR to N, you must provide a number. For example, internet N/3 media.

You can use -and - but, if you retrieve too many results, tye changing the search field from Anywhere to:
Anywhere except full text - NOFT
or
Abstract AB

National Newspapers Core search renewable energy

Jun 7, 2023

Public Policy