Research Guides: Public Policy: Core Public Policy Databases

The databases listed below are core Public Policy databases. But, there are many other databases to use, depending on the focus of your research. Locate additional databases by browsing the Databases by Type or Subject.
See also databases for Statistical Data.

Databases from the same vendor/publisher may be searched together to weed out duplicate materials. See the tab: Searching Multiple Databases.
For example, the following databases are all Ebscohost databases and can be searched together.
Everyone can use these two - they are multidisciplinary
Academic Search Ultimate
MasterFILE Premier

Depending on your topic - add others - such as:
America: History and Life with Full-Text
Historical Abstracts Full Text
International Political Science Abstracts
Military and Government Collection
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
Business Source Complete
EconLit
Education Source
Medline
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Once in one database, click on - choose databases (upper right) to add more databases to your search.

The following databases are Proquest databases and can be searched together.
PAIS Index
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Public Health
Ethnic Newswatch
Genderwatch
Once in one database, click on - change databases (top) to add more databases.

Listed below are SOME of the databases! For the Ebsco databases - get into Academic Search Ultimate and add the others. For the ProQuest databases - get into PAIS and add the others.
OR - go to Database Finder and search for an individual database.

Congressional Publications
Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.
PAIS Index
All aspects of public policy. Proquest database.
Academic Search Ultimate
Multidisciplinary database. Ebscohost database.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published PRIOR to the MOST CURRENT FIVE YEARS
Project Muse
Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines.
Dissertations & Theses Global
This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. It offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. Time Span: 1861 to present.
Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here: http://wokinfo.com/training_support/training/web-of-science
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Political Science
Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Political Science.
Oxford Handbooks: Political science
Extremely useful reference source providing coverage of major topics in political science written by the world's leading scholars. Features include abstracts and keyword searching, reference linking from bibliographies, and footnotes to available online content. The Libraries have purchased the 2012-2022. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.