Use keywords from your project descriptions.
Don't forget to check the main tabs for details:
google tips- use site:gov or site:org
especially when you are seeking to see what other states/cities/towns.. are doing to address the issues
CRS Reports - use the Congressional Publications database or google using your keywords and add - crs reports
Newspaper Articles:
Nexis Uni
National Newspapers Core (Washington Post / WSJ / Baltimore Sun)
So Important:
citation chasing - following references - backwards and forwards
this is the best way to build your bibliography
Follow up on the references and then go to google scholar to see who has cited the original publication
manage citations - use a citation management tool to keep track of your sources
keep track of the databases and searches you use
save yourself time by keeping track so you do not duplicate your work
searching multiple databases - search mulitple EbscoHost databases together
searching multile databases - search multiple ProQuest databases together
For many of your topics - you might want/need to search ALL the Ebsco databses at once
Ebsco tip: too many results? add more keywords / change search field to AB Abstract / Limit to United states = "united states" or usa or u.s. and change search field to AB Abstract
Location = "united sates" or usa or u.s. = AB Abstract
Proquest tip: change search field from Anywhere to - Anywhere except full text / Abstract / filter = Location = United States or "united states" or usa or u.s. = Abstract
Web of Science tip: change search field from All Fields to Topic
Identify one or two relevant articles - check the abstract / subject words and incorporate into your search if necessary
Remember - you will always retrieve documents that are not relevant!
Please email me with any questions
Judy
Suggested databases:
Ebsco:
Academic Search Ultimate
APA PsycInfo
Business Source Complete
Education Source
MasterFILE Premier
SocINDEX with Full Text
Posible search strategy:
"Federal Employee Viewpoint Survey"
and
performance or progress
Limit:
date
language
Change search field from Select A Field to AB Abstract
ProQuest:
PAIS
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Same search strategy
Change search field to Abstract
Web of Science
same search strategy
Change search field to Topic
Suggested databases:
Ebsco:
Academic Search Ultimate
APA PsycInfo
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
MasterFILE Premier
MEDLINE
SocINDEX with Full Text
Possible search strategy:
homeless*
and
incarceration or imprisonment or prison or jail
and
program* or intervention or training
limits:
year
language
too many results? change to AB Abstract
ProQuest:
PAIS
Criminal Justice Abstracts
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Sociological Abstracts
Same search strategy
Change search field to Abstract
Suggested databases:
Ebsco:
Academic Search Ultimate
E-Journals
EconLit
Education Source
Regional Business News
Open Dissertations
Possible search strategy:
Agile
and
government or "federal agenc*"
and
framework
ProQuest:
PAIS
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Same search strategy
Change search field to Abstract
Web of Science
Same search strategy
Change search field to Topic
Suggested databases:
Ebsco
Academic Search Ultimate
Business Source Complete
E-Journals
EconLit
MasterFILE Premier
Military and Government Colelction
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Regional Business News
Possible search strategy:
government or "federal agenc*"
and
goal* or strateg*
and
visualization
Web of Science
same search strategy
change search field to Topic
article -
Bingman, Charles F. "Proposals for Improving GPRA Annual Performance Plans." Public Budgeting & Finance 26, no. 2 (2006): 143-154.
go to Google Scholar
Cited by 4
one of those:
Kasdin, Stuart. "Reinventing reforms: How to improve program management using performance measures. Really." Public Budgeting & Finance 30, no. 3 (2010): 51-78.
is cited 36 times
Suggested databases:
Ebsco:
Academic Searvch Ultimate
America. History and Life
America. History and Life with Full Text
Business Source Complete
EconLit
Education Source
SocINDEX
E-Journals
MasterFILE
Military and Government Collection
Race Relations Abstracts
eBook Collection
eBook Comprehensive
Possible search strategy:
"African American*" or Blacks
and
"federal government" or "federal agenc*" or "civil service"
and
employment or job* or career* or work
ProQuest
Black Studies Periodicals Database
Ethnic Newswatch
PAIS
Proquest Dissertations & Thezes
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Same search strategy
Change search field to Abstract
Web of Science
same search strategy
chane search field to Topic or Abstract
This article:
King, Desmond. "The racial bureaucracy: African Americans and the Federal Government in the era of segregated race relations." Governance 12, no. 4 (1999): 345-377.
not retrieved using the search in Ebsco
