Research Guides: Library Resources for GVPT Students: News: National / Congressional

News: National / Congressional

National Newspapers Core
Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Sun (Baltimore), and The Washington Post. Covers national, international and local news. The NYT provides text of important speeches and documents; WSJ reports on international finance; and WP offers strong political reporting, editorials and columnists.
New York Times 1980 - (ProQuest)
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980.
Washington Post (1987-)
Provides citations and full-text articles from the newspaper. Coverage of local, national, and international news. Particularly known for its political reporting. Full-text: January, 1987--present
Nexis Uni
Full-text news and legal database.

Since Nexis Uni is a fulltext database, there are several strategies you can use to make your results more relevant by bring your keywords closer together.

same sentence = /s = "middle east" /s "foreign aid"
same paragraph = /p = "middle east" /p "foreign aid"
limit words to the headline and lead paragraphs = hlead("middle east" and "foreign aid") = here you can use and

Nexis Uni search brexit and culture

Results. Filters on the left: date, sources, geography...

You can sign in and:
Self-register for an ID and password, allowing for a more personalized
research experience including Alerts set-up, saved searches, and more.

National Journal Policy Database
Comprehensive collection of resources on U.S. politics and policy, including the National Journal, Poll Track, Ad Spotlight, CongressDaily, Technology Daily, and the Almanac of American Politics. All components may be searched at once. Covers all aspects of U.S. politics and policy. National Journal (1977 - present), Ad Spotlight (1997 - present), Almanac of American Politics (1998, 2000, 2002 editions), Campaigns (1997 - present), Markup Reports (September 9, 1999 - present), Poll Track (2001- present), Hotline (1987-present), CongressDaily (1997-present), and Technology Daily (1999- present).
CQ Magazine
Weekly congressional news and analysis. Full text available from 1983 -- present. All the major policy issues confronting the U.S. Congress: Defense, Economy & Taxes, the Environment, Foreign Policy, Health, Education, and Welfare, Crime, etc.
Congressional Publications
Click on: News & Social Media for access to: Washington Post (1987-current); Roll Call newspaper (1998-current); CQ Political Transcripts (1995-current), including news and media availability events, news briefings, press releases, and more. Also Government Social Media & Website Posts.