Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for GVPT Students

guide to government & politics research

Core Databases for Government and Politics Research

Databases are subscription resources that bring journal articles, book chapters, books, research reports, dissertations and other types of materials from a variety of sources into one place with a sophisticated search engine.

The databases listed below are core Government and Politics databases. But, there are many other databases to use depending on the focus of your research. Locate additional databases by browsing the Databases by Type or Subject.  


Databases from the same vendor/publisher may be searched together to weed out duplicate materials. See the tab: Searching Multiple Databases. 
For example, the following databases are all Ebscohost databases and can be searched together.
Academic Search Premier
America: History and Life with Full-Text
Historical Abstracts Full Text
International Political Science Abstracts
Military and Government Collection
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
Business Source Complete
EconLit
Once in one database, click on - choose databases (upper right) to add more databases to your search.


The following databases are Proquest databases and can be searched together.
PAIS 
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Once in one database, click on - databases (top) to add more databases.

Listed below are SOME of the databases! For the Ebsco databases - get into Academic Search Ultimate and add the others. For the ProQuest databases - get into PAIS and add the others.
OR - go to Database Finder and search for an individual database.