Research Guides: Library Resources for GVPT Students: Key Players

The following sources provide information on the key people in government.

Note: When in any CQ database, click on CQ Electronic Library to search all the CQ databases at once.

Almanac of American Politics
Profiles of every member of Congress and governor as well as in-depth and up-to-date narrative profiles of all 50 states and 435 House districts. Also included are detailed Congressional voting records, hard-to-find census data, current state district maps.
CQ Congress Collection
An analytical survey of the history and development; powers; personalities; current developments; and legislation considered and passed by the U.S. Congress. Includes data on voting alignments, interest group ratings, advanced CQ key vote analysis, and advanced member analysis. The database is organized into four sections: Public Policy Legislation; Members of Congress; CQ Key Votes; and the Legislative Branch.
CQ Politics in America
Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends; and the vote for president in each of the House districts.
CQ Voting and Elections Collection
Full-text database of statistics, analyses, definitions, and historical material on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. Users can customize data on candidate and office history, seat status and competition, party control, split districts, third parties, party switches and special elections. Also includes an encyclopedia, calendar, and chronology. Six main categories: Presidential Elections, Congressional Elections, Gubernatorial Elections, Campaigns and Elections, Political Parties, and Voters and Demographics.
Congressional Publications
"Members and Committees" section for biographical information on individual members of Congress, including key votes, floor statements, committee assignments, financial disclosures, campaign finance information and committee rosters and schedules.