AASP 297: Research Methods in African American Studies

Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.

Fire insurance maps are a core resource for documenting the development of neighborhoods over time. Founded in 1867, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. They show lot numbers, square footage of lots, street addresses, which lots have buildings and their shape and materials. They indicate the type of construction, property lines, and the number of stories. They can narrow the date when a building was constructed. They can be used to track demolition, recent construction and alterations. They identify plot numbers necessary to access deed and other civil records. This digital product provides access to the maps of all United States' states. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years. 1867-1970

Guide to materials in geology and earth sciences. Worldwide coverage. Abstracts journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.Over 25,145 sources. Over 2.1 million records. Over 60,000 records added annually. Geology and the Earth Sciences. Major subjects include: crystallography, hydrogeology, economic geology, hydrology and water resources, environmental geology, marine geology, engineering geology, mineralogy, geochemistry, oceanography, geophysics, and paleontology. From 1785 to the present for North American geologyFrom 1933 to the present for international geo.

Historical Statistics of the United States has long been the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. Includes statistics from over 1000 sources.

ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data and cover topics from sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime,minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations. More information about accessing data in ICPSR can be found here: https://www.lib.umd.edu/data/icpsr.

This free site compiles data from prominent international statistics sources like the CIA, UN and others and presents them graphically to allow easy comparisons of countries.

Policy Map provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime mortgages, health, jobs, demographics, and education from more than 150 authoritative public and proprietary sources \. Data is cleaned and standardized , and updated regularly. the database basic GIS tools to create reports and maps.

SimplyAnalytics contains extensive data including demographic, historic census, business, health, real estate, housing, employment, consumer spending, and marketing (over 70,000 variables total). Users can create customized maps and reports; data is down to the census tract level. Click on "Sign in as a guest" to use database. data is available at the State, County, City, ZIP Code, Census Tract and Block Group level as well as custom trade area and the entire United States. Access limited to 5 concurrent users.

Social Explorer provides access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to the most current dataset. Available data includes census data, data from the public Use Microdata Sample (PUMS), and American Community Survey (ACS) data. The database includes basic GIS tools to create reports, maps, and slide shows.

Access to World Bank datasets, databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. Includes: Africa Development Indicators, Doing Business, Global Development Finance, World Development Indicators and much more.

World Bank database provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available. Data export options in Excel or ASCII.