What is a literature review?
In brief, the lit review is the part of a scholarly paper that discusses the relevant research, theoretical and methodological contributions on the topic. Watch these videos to learn more!
Sage Research Methods
"Sage Research Methods" is a database focused on teaching research methods, designing research projects, and many other aspects of actually doing research.
(add more description)
The link to the database can be found below, and it can also be found in the Database Finder on UMD's Library website.
Research Methods in General
Here are some books that are useful in learning about and improving the research process.
Research Methods in Social Science
Here are some books that discuss researching methods specifically for the social sciences in general, and African American studies in particular.
1. Use the following keywords to identify qualitative research.
These keywords will search the titles, abstracts and keywords of records held in the databases. Use quotations to search as a phrase:
2. Use controlled vocabulary
Databases use controlled vocabulary to categorize each record stored. The terms they use are known as thesaurus terms orsubject headings. The thesaurus terms vary for each database according to their indexing system.
For example, qualitative research is indexed in PubMed as "Qualitative Research" or "Nursing Methodology Research", while inCINAHL their subject heading "Qualitative Studies" is complemented by more detailed terms, including "Phenomenological Research" and "Grounded Theory".
Tutorials for searching subject headings:
|PubMed uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)||CINAHL uses CINAHL Headings|
3. Use qualitative research filters
Qualitative research filters are pre-formulated search strategies that have been constructed by librarians to help you retrieve articles in databases that deal with qualitative research. You can use the filter and then combine the results with your subject.
Modify your search strategy accordingly by using thesaurus terms, such as qualitative research, grounded theory, interviews, observation methods, etc.