This online course tutorial will assist students of AASP 297: Research Methods in African American Studies. It will help you in designing research strategies for the purpose of locating print and electronic resources. The tutorial covers all aspects of Black life including the African Diaspora, African American culture, history, music, literataure, drama, politics, religion, and much more. Also, the online publication includes tips on how to prepare an annotated bibliography. Always consult with your course instructor for specific requirements regarding your assignments.
How does borrowing, access, and requesting work?
The University of Maryland Library System is full of resources--learn all about them!
The Library's page on Access, Borrow, Request will provide details about access to facilities, electronic resources, and physical materials (including what can be borrowed and for how long).
Find resources on ILL, Requesting, Course Reserves, and more! On this guide, we have highlighted some of these services in the tabs above, but the Library's Access, Borrow, Request page lists many more.
What if I want to suggest materials to the library?
Course Reserves provide you with access to essential readings and media for your classes as requested by your instructor. It exists to serve two kinds of users: those who learn and those who teach. For students, all your course readings are in one convenient place. For instructors, it is a platform for sharing course materials.
What about when I study off-campus?
Did you know that even if you are off-campus, you can still access all of UMD's amazing resources as if you were on campus? All you need is UMD's Reload Buttton.
Looking for something specific? Use UMD's Citation Finder to search for articles, journals, eBooks, etc. using specific search criteria. Narrow down the results you'd otherwise get by using this helpful tool.
Research and Learning
The University's Research and Learning department compiles services supporting high level research under one umbrella, expanding the boundaries of the traditional library. Its goal is to connect researchers with virtual services and to bring them together in developing spaces.
You can schedule a one-on-one consultation with a subject specialist through the library directory, or email your subject librarian directly (Tahirah Akbar-Williams, firstname.lastname@example.org) to set up an in-class introduction to research session.
The Research and Learning department also offers several other services that may be of use.
Data Services - offers services such as data archiving and data management. Librarians will help provide you with expert advice and tools needed to properly manage, archive, or cite your data, depending on your needs.
Collection Development and Purchasing - if you wish for the UMD Library to add a specific item to their collection, feel free to suggest it here!
Events and Workshops - the UMD Library offers several talks and workshops covering a variety of topics which may be of interest. Use the link for information on what events and workshops are being offered and the topics being covered.
DRUM (Digital Repository at the University of Maryland) - a digital repository for collecting and preserving work done by university researchers that can be shared all over the world.
Open Scholarship Services - this program offers both consultation and services to help the creation of scholarly works. These services include metadata, marketing, preservation, and more.
Terrapin Learning Commons
Need to borrow some equipment (chargers, headphones, computers, etc.)? Need a 3D printer? Looking for a collaborative study space? The Terrapin Learning Commons has got you covered.
Get your research questions answered through chat, email, phone, drop in at the Information desk or make an appointment.
You can also schedule a one-on-one consultation with a subject specialist through the library directory, or email your subject librarian directly (Tahirah Akbar-Williams, email@example.com) to set up an in-class introduction to research session.