Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies Guide

According to the latest census data, less than 13 percent of the U.S. population identifies as African American; African Americans are still very much a minority group. Yet African American cultural expression and strong influences from African American culture are common across mainstream American culture--in music, the arts, and entertainment; in education and religion; in sports; and in politics and business.Covers virtually every aspect of African American cultural expression, addressing subject matter that ranges from how African culture was preserved during slavery hundreds of years ago to the richness and complexity of African American culture in the post-Obama era.

Co-published by ASCE Press and the Society of Women Engineers; If you think this is just another book about women's issues, think again. This one is different. Becoming Leaders: A Practical Handbook for Women in Engineering, Science, and Technology, Second Edition is intended for people interested in the advancement of their own careers or in the development of human resources in their organization. Information is given in a reader-friendly format with easy-to-find bulleted lists supported by current research in sociology, education, and psychology. This second edition includes new information on implicit bias, other factors affecting leadership success, the impact of social media, management of diversity and inclusion initiatives, and creating respectful workplaces.

The Emerald Handbook of Criminology, Feminism and Social Change combines a wide range of international contributors to chart the uneasy relationship between feminism, criminology and victimology. It explores historical and contemporary questions posed for criminology and victimology. It explores both the historical and contemporary questions posed by feminist work and is essential reading for anyone interested in feminism, criminology and social change.

This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. It not only covers the issues that have had an impact on women, but also traces the influence of women's achievements on society as a whole. Divided into three chronologically arranged volumes, the set includes historical surveys and thematic essays on central issues and political changes affecting women's lives during each period.

The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory provides a rich overview of the analytical frameworks and theoretical concepts that feminist theorists have developed to analyze the known world. Featuring leading feminist theorists from diverse regions of the globe, this collection delves intoforty-nine subject areas, demonstrating the complexity of feminist challenges to established knowledge, while also engaging areas of contestation within feminist theory.

Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory, the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women brings the field into the new millennium. In over 900 signed A-Z entries from US and Europe, Asia, the Americas, Oceania, and the Middle East, the women who pioneered the field from its inception collaborate with the new scholars who are shaping the future of women's studies to create the new standard work for anyone who needs information on women-related subjects.

The Wiley Handbook on the Theories, Assessment and Treatment of Sexual Offending is a three-volume collection of up-to-date readings contributed by international experts relating to the assessment, intervention, and theoretical foundations of sexual offending. Includes in-depth and up-to-date assessment and treatment approaches for adult male, female, juvenile, and cognitively-impaired offenders.

This book provides a one-stop resource for understanding the participation and representation of women in the U.S. media in such areas as narrative film, scripted television programming, advertising, video games, news, and sports. Coverage is wide-ranging and comprehensive, covering historical developments and trends as well as such relevant issues as gender disparities in pay and advancement opportunities, stereotypical gender portrayals in popular entertainment, sexual harassment in America's media and entertainment industries, and the dearth of positive media representations of women of color.