Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies Guide

"The Celebration of Women Writers recognizes the contributions of women writers throughout history. Women have written almost every imaginable type of work: novels, poems, letters, biographies, travel books, religious commentaries, histories, economic and scientific works. Our goal is to promote awareness of the breadth and variety of women's writing. "

Rutgers University Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP) includes full-text research reports, fact sheets, and links to other sites related to women and politics.

Searchable site that gathers and publicizes information about nonprofit organizations.

"The National Women’s History Museum affirms the value of knowing Women’s History, illuminates the role of women in transforming society and encourages all people, women and men, to participate in democratic dialogue about our future.
To do this, the Museum will research, collect and exhibit the contributions of women to the social, cultural, economic and political life of our nation in a context of world history. "

"The WomanStats Project is the most comprehensive compilation of information on the status of women in the world. The Project facilitates understanding the linkage between the situation of women and the security of nation-states. We comb the extant literature and conduct expert interviews to find qualitative and quantitative information on over 310 indicators of women's status in 174 countries. Our Database expands daily, and access to it is free of charge."

United Nations.

This page provides an overview of women's and gender history projects at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) (Amsterdam, Netherlands), one of the world's largest documentary and research institutions in the field of social history in general and the history of the labour movement in particular.

Human Rights Watch.
"Despite great strides made by the international women’s rights movement over many years, women and girls around the world are still married as children or trafficked into forced labor and sex slavery. They are refused access to education and political participation, and some are trapped in conflicts where rape is perpetrated as a weapon of war. Around the world, deaths related to pregnancy and childbirth are needlessly high, and women are prevented from making deeply personal choices in their private lives. Human Rights Watch is working toward the realization of women’s empowerment and gender equality—protecting the rights and improving the lives of women and girls on the ground."

One of the most comprehensive bibliographies of materials in the area of women's studies, gender research and feminism available on the web.

Open Collections Program from Harvard University. The collection explores women's role in in the economy:working conditions, costs of living, recreation, health and hygiene and other social issues.