It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Collection at UM Libraries
JPRS is a government organization established in 1957 to supply the government with translations of unclassified foreign documents. This is important source material for research in the social sciences, science, political science & intl relations.
Index II.C. Transdex: Bibliography and Index to the United States Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) and Translations. (1970-1974) Gov Ref AS 36.U574.
Coverage: In 1970, the previous indexes would merge to form the Transdex.
This index was published first monthly and followed with a cumulative
semi-annual issue. The McKeldin Library collection retained only the
semi-annual issues. The index covers all publications from all
geographic locations but is not separated geographically in the way as
Arrangement: This index includes the following:
Serial and ad hoc titles index – a listing of all serials and ad hoc (singular materials) indexed in that issue
Country index – a listing of countries and related JPRS documents
Subject index – an arrangement of major subjects, followed by subcategories, each with a listing of related JPRS documents
Publications' index – a listing of each publication with corresponding dates
Author index – all authors translated in that issue of the Transdex
Bibliographic listing – a complete list of all documents for that issue in JPRS order
Access: All entries in each different type of index contain a JPRS number.
From all indexes, use the JPRS number and refer to the Bibliographic
Listing. The bibliography indicates a microfilm reel number and
microfiche sheet number. The McKeldin Library collection only holds the
microfilm reels covered in this index. Each microfilm reel number
contains a country code and then a number. "Microfilm Reel R313" is for
the Soviet Union, Reel No. 313. The codes are as follows and correspond
to the following call numbers for the reels: