Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Collection at UM Libraries

JPRS is a government organization established in 1957 to supply the government with translations of unclassified foreign documents. This is important source material for research in the social sciences, science, political science & intl relations.

Geographic Coverage Areas for Microfilm Collection, 1962 – 1974

Geographic Location Date Coverage Call Number
Asia 1962 – 1974 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U576
China 1963 – 1964 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U5762
China and Asia 1964 – 1974 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U5764
East Europe 1962 – 1974 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U5768
International Developments 1962 – 1974 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U58
Soviet Union 1962 – 1974 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U582

Indexes for JPRS Microfilm Collection: 1962 – 1974

There are three indexes to the JPRS microfilm collection published between 1962 and 1974.

  • Index II.A. RMP Bibliography Indexes to Current U.S. JPRS Research Translations. (1962 – 1970).
  • Index II.B. Catalog in Book Form for United States Joint Publications Research Service Translations. (1957 – 1970).
  • Index II.C. Transdex: Bibliography and Index to the United States Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) and Translations. (1970 – 1974).

Coverage

This collection begins full coverage of JPRS documents in 1962, including all available items translated for the series.

Arrangement

This microfilm collection organizes documents by the following:

  1. Geographic location (indicated by areas and call numbers in the following table)
  2. Document type: serials, ad hoc, and books
  3. Subject classification (which become more detailed as the series progresses)

IMPORTANT: The order of documents on the microfilm reel is the same order in which the documents are presented in the bibliographies (or publication indexes) of the indexes for this collection.