Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives Digital Collections

Guide to using digitized University Archives Resources. Guide is co-created by Graduate Student Assistants, Casey Hughes and Sara Ludewig.

COVID COLLECTION

Shell-tering in Place - Terp Stories of COVID-19

Contribute to digital collections at UMD! The University Archives invites all members of the UMD community to share their COVID-19 stories to be preserved in the Archives. Future generations will be able to access this collection to gain insight into how Terps faced this global crisis thanks to your contributions to this project

Shell-tering In Place Collection Homepage

University Archives gets many reference requests about Theses and Dissertations written by students at the University of Maryland. There are three locations where theses and dissertations are stored.

1.  DRUM (Digital Repository of the University of Maryland). Materials stored here are open access and available to anyone. Any dissertation published after 2003 is automatically posted in DRUM, but there are also older theses and dissertations that were digitized and uploaded later. 

2. Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global Database. Institutional access is needed to use this tool, so if you are a student or faculty member at UMD you can access it. If you are a student or faculty member at another institution you may have access and should check through your library's website.

If you cannot find the paper you are looking for in one of these locations, its is likely not digitized. There are two ways to request the digitization of a thesis or dissertations.

1. The first is Interlibrary Loan. In order to request through ILL you must be affiliated with an academic institution. 

2. Theses and dissertations in our collection can also be requested through Aeon, the Special Collection and University Archives retrieval software. For more information see this  page.  Because of the work required to digitize, you may be charged a fee. See this page for more details.