Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives Digital Collections

Guide to using digitized University Archives Resources. Guide is co-created by Graduate Student Assistants, Casey Hughes and Sara Ludewig.

COVID COLLECTION

Shell-tering in Place - Terp Stories of COVID-19

Contribute to digital collections at UMD! The University Archives invites all members of the UMD community to share their COVID-19 stories to be preserved in the Archives. Future generations will be able to access this collection to gain insight into how Terps faced this global crisis thanks to your contributions to this project

Shell-tering In Place Collection Homepage

The University of Maryland Libraries has digitized its yearbooks from 1897 onwards. The first issue of the yearbook, entitled Reveille was over 130 pages in length. The yearbook name changed to the Terrapin in 1935, and grew in size along with the campus. Yearbooks typically contain pages with class photos, faculty information, Greek organizations, Athletics, and other organizations. These types of pages are explored in greater detail below. Yearbooks may also contain poems, candid photos, illustrations, ads, residence hall photos, and academic department information depending on the year. Each yearbook may be downloaded as an Adobe PDF file, and may be searched individually for names and events.

Follow this link to see all the digitized yearbooks

 

Faculty Pages

Some yearbooks have pages displaying faculty member names, departments, and photographs. (Faculty List, 1919)

Class Photos

The yearbooks also contain senior photos and information about graduating seniors. This is a good place to check to verify a graduation date or attendance at the University of Maryland. (Senior Pages, 1946 and 1966).

Athletics

The yearbooks contain pages for each varsity sport and occasionally club or intermural sports. The amount of information they contain varies widely, but they are a good place to check to verify players or find images. (Women's Lacrosse,  1995. Women's Basketball, 1985)

Campus Organizations

Student organizations are also represented in the pages of the yearbook. They don't always list membership but give a general idea of the types of organizations and activities on campus. (Student Organization Pages, 1966 and 1984).

Greek Organizations

Many yearbooks, particularly older yearbooks. contain pages for Greek organizations. Often the pages contain a group photo, but sometimes they have composites instead. Another place to look for composites and details on the organization members is in the Frieze.