Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives Digital Collections

Guide to using digitized University Archives Resources. Guide is co-created by Graduate Student Assistants, Casey Hughes and Sara Ludewig.

University Archivist

Profile Photo
Lae'l Hughes-Watkins
Contact:
Special Collections and University Archives, Hornbake Library

COVID COLLECTION

Shell-tering in Place - Terp Stories of COVID-19

Contribute to digital collections at UMD! The University Archives invites all members of the UMD community to share their COVID-19 stories to be preserved in the Archives. Future generations will be able to access this collection to gain insight into how Terps faced this global crisis thanks to your contributions to this project

Shell-tering In Place Collection Homepage

Using Digital Collections

The University Archives at the University of Maryland captures a highly complex research institution's day-to-day functioning in all its many facets: administration, academics, athletics, the arts, and other student activities. University Archives is a crucial resource for the history and present activities of the University of Maryland.

University Archives is the repository for a broad range of materials, including administrative files, faculty and administrators papers, university publications, theses and dissertations, photographs, audiovisual materials, and memorabilia documenting the history and present activities of the University of Maryland. The holdings of University Archives are strongest in the post-1916 period.

The digitized collections are one of the best places to begin research about the University of Maryland's history. To facilitate research in our collections, University Archives has digitized a number of our popular holdings:

Student Demonstrates Against Apartheid, ca. 1980-1989

Larry Webster, University of Maryland football, October 20, 1990

Terrapin Yearbook, 1973

McKeldin Mall

National Guardsmen in a cloud of tear gas near the Journalism building during a Vietnam War protest, circa 1969-1972

Athletic Media Guides, Field Hockey, 1995

Black explosion (College Park, Md.), 2015-12-01

The Terrapin Yearbook, 2014