Skip to main content

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Collection at UM Libraries

JPRS is a government organization established in 1957 to supply the government with translations of unclassified foreign documents. This is important source material for research in the social sciences, science, political science & intl relations.

Index II.A. RMP Bibliography Indexes to Current U.S. JPRS Research Translations (1962 – 1970).

Coverage:
This index was published monthly and is divided by the geographical areas and coverage dates indicated in the following table:

Geographic Volumes for RMP Bibliography Indexes, 1962-1970
Location: Gov Docs Reference Stacks, 4th floor of McKeldin Library

Geographic Location Date Coverage Call Number
China July 1962 – June 1964 Gov Ref AS36 .U572
Asian Developments July 1962 – June 1964 Gov Ref AS36 .U5722
China and Asia July 1964 – June 1970 Gov Ref AS36 .U5724
East Europe July 1962 – June 1970 Gov Ref AS36 .U5726
International Developments July 1962 – June 1970 Gov Ref AS36 .U5728
Soviet Union July 1962 – June 1970 Gov Ref AS36 .U573

Arrangement:
Depending on its date of publication, these bibliographies may contain a(n)

  1. Index to microfilm – reels covered in each issue
  2. Subject guide – indicating the general classification of each document's geographic location and subject
  3. Subject index – identifying documents by subject matter
  4. Bibliography (publication index) – listing of publications separated into serials, ad hoc, books, and the Scholastic Book Translation Series
  5. Cross reference index – an index showing relationships between documents, their index location, and their microfilm location

For further information about which bibliographies contain each of these features, please read the section on Access.

Access:
This bibliography is accessed differently over four different time periods of publication:

  1. Jan 1962 – Dec 1962
  2. Jan 1963 – June 1964
  3. July 1964 – June 1967
  4. July 1967 – 1972

1. Index covering Jan 1962 – Dec 1962

  1. Index to the Microfilm – When you have located a JPRS number, the index to the microfilm can be used to determine the reel on which the document appears.
    This section lists:
    • the reels published that month,
    • the range of documents included on the reel, and
    • the page numbers in the bibliography to which the reel corresponds.
  2. Bibliography (or publication index) – The bibliography can be used for access to a particular document on the microfilm reel. The bibliography is split into four sections: serials, ad hoc, books, and the Scholastic Book Translation Series. The listing order in the bibliography is the same order in which the documents appear on the microfilm. To access a document, find it in the bibliography and note the JPRS number and bibliography page number. Then, refer to the microfilm index to access the necessary reel. On the microfilm, the beginning of each document has a 3x5 card denoting the JPRS number of the document.

2. Index covering Jan 1963 – June 1964

  1. Index to the Microfilm – When you have located a JPRS number, the index to the microfilm can be used to determine the reel on which the document appears.
    This section lists:
    • the reels published that month,
    • the range of documents included on the reel, and
    • the page numbers in the bibliography to which the reel corresponds.
  2. Subject Guide – This subject guide classifies documents first by geographic location and then by subject. The subject guide can be used to identify the subject area given to a document.
    A few examples of classification:
    1. E-13 translations on East European trade
    2. A-2 translations on Mongolia
    3. R-22 translations on USSR Communications
  3. Bibliography (or publication index) – The bibliography can be used for access to a particular document on the microfilm reel. The bibliography is split into four sections: serials, ad hoc, books, and the Scholastic Book Translation Series. The listing order in the bibliography is the same order in which the documents appear on the microfilm. To access a document, find it in the bibliography and note the JPRS number and bibliography page number. Then, refer to the microfilm index to access the necessary reel. On the microfilm, the beginning of each document has a 3x5 card denoting the JPRS number of the document.
  4. Cross Reference Index – For this date range of bibliographies, the cross reference index can be used as a link between a document's JPRS number, its subject classification, and location in the monthly bibliography.
    Items are listed in the cross reference index as follows:

Figure II.A.

JPRS Index IIA (RMP) Entry

3. Index covering July 1964 – June 1967

  1. Index to the Microfilm – When you have located a JPRS number, the index to the microfilm can be used to determine the reel on which the document appears.
    This section lists:
    • the reels published that month,
    • the range of documents included on the reel, and
    • the page numbers in the bibliography to which the reel corresponds.
  2. Subject Guide – This subject guide classifies documents first by geographic location and then by subject. The subject guide can be used to identify the subject area given to a document.
    A few examples of classification:
    1. E-13 translations on East European trade
    2. A-2 translations on Mongolia
    3. R-22 translations on USSR Communications
  3. Subject Index – This can be used to locate all documents of a similar subject listed in each monthly issue. The index is organized first by geographic location, and then by subject. To locate a document from the subject index, remember the JPRS number, then refer to the cross reference index for the microfilm reel location.
  4. Bibliography (or publication index) – The bibliography can be used for access to a particular document on the microfilm reel. The bibliography is split into four sections: serials, ad hoc, books, and the Scholastic Book Translation Series. The listing order in the bibliography is the same order in which the documents appear on the microfilm. To access a document, find it in the bibliography and note the JPRS number and bibliography page number. Then, refer to the microfilm index to access the necessary reel. On the microfilm, the beginning of each document has a 3x5 card denoting the JPRS number of the document.
  5. Cross Reference Index – For this date range of bibliographies, the cross reference index can be used as a link between a document's JPRS number, general subject classification, the monthly issue in which the document is listed, and the reel and document order in which the actual item can be located on the microfilm reel.
    Items are listed in the cross reference index as follows


Figure II.B.

JPRS Index IIB (RMP) Entry

4. Index covering July 1967 – 1972

  1. Index to the Microfilm – When you have located a JPRS number, the index to the microfilm can be used to determine the reel on which the document appears.
    This section lists:
    • the reels published that month,
    • the range of documents included on the reel, and
    • the page numbers in the bibliography to which the reel corresponds.
  2. Subject Guide – This subject guide classifies the documents first by geographic location and then by subject. The subject guide can be used to identify the subject area given to a document.
    A few examples of classification:
    1. E-13 translations on East European trade
    2. A-2 translations on Mongolia
    3. R-22 translations on USSR Communications
  3. Subject Index – This can be used to locate all documents of a similar subject listed in each monthly issue. The index is organized first by geographic location, and then by subject. To locate a document from the subject index, remember the JPRS number, then refer to the cross reference index for the microfilm reel location.
  4. Bibliography (or publication index) – The bibliography can be used for access to a particular document on the microfilm reel. The bibliography is split into four sections: serials, ad hoc, books, and the Scholastic Book Translation Series. The listing order in the bibliography is the same order in which the documents appear on the microfilm. To access a document, find it in the bibliography and note the JPRS number and bibliography page number. Then, refer to the microfilm index to access the necessary reel. On the microfilm, the beginning of each document has a 3x5 card denoting the JPRS number of the document.
  5. Cross Reference Index – For this date range of bibliographies, the cross reference index can be used as a link between a document's JPRS number, the monthly issue and page number in which the document is listed, and both microfilm reel and microfiche sheet in which the actual item can be located.
    Items are listed in the cross reference index as follows:

Figure II.C.

JPRS Index IIC (RMP) Entry