All researchers using the Prange Collection materials must create Special Collections Account.
Contact us if you have any questions!
The Prange Collection contains 13,799 magazine titles issued during the immediate post-World War II years, 1945 - 1949. The entire magazine collection has been microfilmed.
Database: Visit the 20th Century Media Information Database. Created and maintained by the Institute of Intelligence Studies, Japan, it includes all of the Prange magazines. The magazines can be searched at the article level. NOTE: The database is fee-based.
Database: Visit the Zassaku Plus [the Complete Database for Japanese Magazines and Periodicals from Meiji Era to the Present]. It includes all of the Prange magazines. The magazines can be searched at the article level. NOTE: The database is fee-based.
Online Catalog: Visit the National Diet Library of Japan (NDL) Research Navi for instructions on how to search for magazines via NDL-ONLINE. All Prange magazine titles are included. This is a title-level catalog.
Digital Collections: Approximately 5,300 Prange Collection magazines (approximately 700 titles) are available in the NDL Digital Collections. Full text is only available onsite at NDL. When accessed offsite, only bibliographic data for the magazines is viewable.
Print Finding Aid: "Guide to the Gordon W. Prange Magazine Collection/メリーランド大学図書館所蔵ゴードン・W・プランゲ文庫雑誌目録." This print finding aid is available onsite in the Prange Collection, at NDL, and at several universities in the United States and Japan.
The magazine microfiches are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North. For instructions on how to request them, see this page. For a list of other institutions that also hold a set of the microfiche, see the Collection Holdings/Magazines page on the Prange Collection website.