There are approximately 71,000 book titles in the Prange Collection. In 2005, the UMD Libraries, in partnership with the National Diet Library of Japan, began a project to digitize the entire monograph collection. The children's books constituted phase one of the project; they have all been digitized. For guidance on searching and accessing the children's books, please go to this page.
The following books are currently being digitized and may not be requested for use (as of May 2021): Education Books with the Call numbers 321-0001~330-0090, 331-0001~340-0114, 375-0001~399-0060)
Online Catalog: The censored books can be located by doing an Advanced Search in the UMD Libraries Online Catalog. In the "search for words in..." field, select "notes" in the dropdown menu, and enter "検閲" (censored) or "断片"(fragment). Then limit the search by either selecting "Prange Collection" in the "location" field or "Prange" in the "named collection" field. (Not all censored materials are catalogued.)
Inventories: Click on the links below for inventories of censored books and fragments of books. These inventories also include manuscripts and galley proofs, whether they were censored or not.
There are numerous ways to search and access the general books in the Prange Collection, as outlined in the table below. If you have any questions, please contact us!
The following books are currently being digitized and may not be requested for use (as of May 2021): Education Books with the Call numbers 321-0001~330-0090, 331-0001~340-0114, 375-0001~399-0060)
| Classification | Status | SEARCH and ACCESS |
|---|---|---|
|
Ephemera (Call No. starting with AC) |
Digitized |
SEARCH:
Go to this page for details. ACCESS: Full text is available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North and at the National Diet Library of Japan. |
|
Reference Books (Call No. starting with AY) |
Digitized |
SEARCH:
ACCESS: Full text is available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North and at the National Diet Library of Japan. |
|
Philosophy and Religion (Call No. starting with B)
|
Available Onsite |
SEARCH:
ACCESS: The materials are only available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Auxiliary Sciences of History (Call No. starting with CB, CC, CD, CE, CT, CR) |
Digitized (partially) |
SEARCH:
ACCESS: Full text is available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North and at the National Diet Library of Japan. A portion of CT (CT-0501~) has not be processed. Please contact us if you have any questions. |
|
History (Call No. starting with D) |
Digitized |
SEARCH:
ACCESS: All history books are digitized, and the text is available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North and at the National Diet Library of Japan. |
|
History of the Americas (Call No. starting with E) |
Digitized |
SEARCH:
ACCESS: Full text is available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North and at the National Diet Library of Japan.
|
|
History of the Americas (Call No. starting with F) |
Digitized |
SEARCH:
ACCESS: Full text is available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North and at the National Diet Library of Japan.
|
|
Geography, Anthropology, Recreation (Call No. starting with G) |
Available Onsite |
SEARCH:
ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Social Science (Call No. starting with HD, HQ, HS, HT, HV, HX) |
Digitized (partially) |
SEARCH:
ACCESS: Full text is available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North and at the National Diet Library of Japan. The rest of the H sections (e.g. HA, HB....) are searchable via the UMD Libraries Online Catalog, but they have not been digitized. They are accessible onsite in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North. |
|
Political Science (Call No. starting with J) |
Digitized |
SEARCH:
ACCESS: Full text is available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North and at the National Diet Library of Japan. |
|
Law (Call No. starting with K) |
Available Onsite |
SEARCH: A basic Inventory is available onsite. ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Korean Language Education Books (Call No. 301-0036 ~ 301-0063) |
Digitized |
SEARCH:
Go to this page for some examples. ACCESS: Full text is available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North and at the National Diet Library of Japan. |
| Education | Currently Digitizing |
SEARCH: ACCESS: Due to the ongoing digitization project, some education books are currently unavailable. |
|
Music (Call No. starting with M) |
Available Onsite |
SEARCH: A basic inventory is available onsite. ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Arts (Call No. starting with N) |
Available Onsite |
SEARCH: A basic Inventory is available onsite. ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Literature (Call Numbers starting with PL) |
Available Onsite |
SEARCH: ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Literature - General (poetry, drama, movies, and plays) (Call No. starting with PN) |
Digitized |
SEARCH: A basic Inventory is available onsite. ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Science (Call No. starting with Q) |
Available Onsite |
SEARCH: A basic Inventory is available onsite. ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Medicine (Call No. starting with R) |
Available Onsite |
SEARCH: A basic Inventory is available onsite. ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Agriculture (Call No. starting with S) |
Available Onsite |
SEARCH: A basic Inventory is available onsite. ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Technology (Call No. starting with T) |
Available Onsite |
SEARCH: A basic Inventory is available onsite. ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
|
Military Science/Naval Science (Call No. starting with U/V) |
Digitized |
SEARCH: A basic Inventory is available onsite. ACCESS: The full text is available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
| Translation books | Available Onsite |
SEARCH: A basic Inventory is available onsite. ACCESS: The materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland. |
