Public Policy

Project Information: Students in this group will have the ability to shape their project/topic. Most likely the project will center research around WMDs and drafting a research paper. The client is flexible and willing to help students narrow down a field of study.

Since the project at this point is so broad, you can investigate the following databases for WMD. Once the research is narrowed down, you can add any of the ebscohost databases in the topic area.
For example if you were researching the money aspect - add Business Source Complete and EconLit

Basic Databases - EbscoHost
Academic Search Ultimate
America: History & Life
America: History & Life with Full Text
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
International Political Science Abstracts
MasterFILE Premier
Military & Government Collection
SocINDEX with Full Text
 

Basic Databases - ProQuest
 Digital National Security Archive
Ebook Central
PAIS
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Publicaly Available Content Database
(Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world. It includes content from major subject repositories such as arXiv as well as open access journals. Content includes journal articles, pre-prints, books, conference papers and reports.)

Additional databases:
Web of Science Core Colelction
Scopus (available through the spring semester)

When you have narrowed the topic, add key words to "weapons of mass destruction"

disarmament
debate or controversy or argument
peace
conflict

Project Information: Research the following: 
1. If and how entrepreneurship/small business owner is a strategy for closing the racial wealth gap
2. Research diving into the barriers for maintaining homeownership

1.  entrepreneurship/small business
EbscoHost
Academic Search Ultimate
Business Source Complete
EconLit
eBook Collection (and Comprehensive Academic and OA)
Regional Business News

ProQuest
PAIS

Other:
Web of Science
Scopus
 

Sample search strategies:
entrepreneur* or "small business*"
and
"wealth gap" or "wealth inequality" or  inequity or  inequality
and
race or racial or ethnic or ethnicity
Could also add some key words such as:
solution* or program* or prevention or solving or resolve or resolution

2. maintaining homeownership
EbscoHost
Academic Search Ultimate
Business Source Complete
EconLit
MasterFILE Premier
SocINDEX with Full Text
 

Web of Science
Scopus

Sample search strategy:
homeownership or "home ownership"
and
barrier* or obstacle* or challenge* or difficult* or issue* or problem*

too manyresults?
change year
Change search field to AB Abstract
limit document type

add additional keywords:
income
race or racial
tax*
etc

Project Information: Research the following

1. How do the arts and humanities support K-12 student learning?

2. What are models of arts-based community development that can support K-12 student learning and leadership development?

3. What type of funding resources are available at the federal level to support our arts and humanities initiatives? (Ex: NEA, NEH) 

Datatabses for all 3:
Academic Search Ultimate
PsycInfo
Art Abstracts
Art Full Text
Education Source
ERIC
MasterFILE Premier
Plus Military and Government Collection for the funding question

Possible Search Strategies
1. arts and humanities
and
k-12
and
learning
and
value or benefit* or effect* or significance or importance

2. add:
community

3. arts and humanities
and
k-12
and
federal or government
and 
funding
You might find more results goggling and using the site:
site:gov
site:org
k-12 arts humanities federal funding site:gov
k-12 arts humanities federal funding site:org
 

Project Information:  Our hope for this project is to create a roadmap to leverage the business and political landscape for the good of our community.  Identifying businesses, groups, policies, and individuals who share our values.  Instituting a strategic plan to cultivate relationships with each of these groups.  Creating different audience-specific marketable for each target demographic.  And create a guide for our small non-profit to grow our audience and supporter base in demographics we are truly unfamiliar with. Also, consider how transportation could improve access and participation in Blind Hockey.

You could find information about how small non-profits use marketing and guides and apply it to the Dented Puck. The same with transportation  for the blind.

There is a great marketing reports database 
Mintel
Search keyword - marketing - and there are reports on marketing to a specific demographic: Moms, Hispanic Moms, Asian Americans, Black Moms, Hispanic Millennials, Black Millennials

Databases same for marketing and transportation
EbscoHost
Academic Search
Business Source Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete
MasterFILE Premier
Regional Business News
SocINDEX

Web of Science

Possible search strategies:
1. marketing
"non-profit" or nonprofit
and
marketing or advertising or promotion or branding
and
small or local

Could also add:

audience or demograph*

2. transportation
same databases but could add:
Urban Studies Abstracts

"public transportation" or "public transit" or "mass transit" or bus
and 
blind or "visually impaired" or "low vision" or "visual impairment" or blindness

Additional databases:
TRID (Transportation Research Information Database)
Mechanical and Transportation ENgineering Abstracts
search = blindness and "public transportation"

Project Information: Best Practices around Abandoned Vehicle Enforcement. Maryland State Code Title 25 Subtitle 2 (§ 25-201) defines abandoned vehicles on the right of way as “[a vehicle] that is inoperable and left unattended on public property for more than 48 hours; (2) That has remained illegally on public property for more than 48 hours”. Most requests for the removal of these vehicles are made through Baltimore’s 3-1-1 system by citizens. These parameters, along with a myriad of other conditions, have significant issues for the Department’s enforcement of abandoned vehicles. For this capstone project, the Department is looking to research best practices surrounding the abandonment of vehicles and how they can be applied in Baltimore City. Students will leave this project with immense knowledge of the relationship between government operations and citizens’ requests, the relationship between state policy and local government operations, and much more.

EbscoHost databases
Academic Search Ultimate
Business Source Complete
MasterFILE Premier
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Regional Busienss News
SocINDEX with Full Text

Others:

ProQuest databases
PAIS
Criminal Justice Database

Web of Science

Possible strategy:
"abandon* vehicle*"

Project Information: We would love a fresh perspective is looking at the best way to accomplish 3 things—

1. Achieve the goals outlined in the Zero Trust Architecture strategy by 2024 (https://www.whitehouse.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/M-22-09.pdf)

2. Integrate and improve the NIST Cybersecurity Framework https://www.nist.gov/cyberframework in cyber maturation processes

3. Optimize maturation according to the Cybersecurity Maturity Model: https://www.energy.gov/ceser/cybersecurity-capability-maturity-model-c2m2#:~:text=The%20Cybersecurity%20Capability%20Maturity%20Model,capabilities%20and%20optimize%20security%20investments.

This topic covers the integration of laws, policy, governance, business, and road map creation to achieve cybersecurity mandates from the eGovernment Act of 2002, the Federal Information Security Modernization Act of 2014 (FISMA), and the most recent mandates from President Biden. Ideally, we would like additional perspective on how we (Leidos), the supply chain, and government come together to achieve their goals.

Databases
Computer Science:
ACM Digital Library
In this databse it looks like there is only one box to search within, try this search:
(cybersecurity or "cyber security") and "zero trust"

ScienceDirect 
Web of Science
Scopus

Ebsco
Academic Search Ultimate
Business Source Complete
MasterFILE Premier
Military and Government

ProQuest
PAIS
Publicly Available Content Database
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

In addiiton, use the basic 
cybersecurity or " cyber security" 
and add other key words and phrases from the client documents such as:
multi-factor authentication
enterprise-managed identities

Project Information: We are asking students to provide research on the success of prevention and intervention programs in metro areas for underserved youth. Our hope is that the research provided will lead to 

1. Insight on community based alternatives and community based programs. 

2. Best practices and comparative data

3. Potential funding sources such as foundations and government grants. 

Databases
EbscoHost
Academic Search Ultimate
Education Source
ERIC
MasterFILE Premier
SocINDEX with Full Text

Additional:
Web of Science
 

Possible strategy:

"underserved youth"
and
program* or service* or intervention*
and
urban or metro* or city or "inner-city" or municipal

Project Information: Students are tasked with exploring the small business environment in Prince George’s county, and researching avenues to support small businesses in historic districts across the county. Students will:

• Attempt to research and determine why MD’s Main Street policies are remarkably opaque. They will examine other policies and programs available to benefit small businesses.

• Research if MD’s Main Street & Affiliate programs are good tools for non-traditional commercial spaces in PG county. Is it worth it to advocate for changes, or are the programs simply not designed for these spaces? Should we try to make something new?

• Research whether local commercial hubs are tourist destinations. Even though they may fall in historic centers, they might not have a tourist draw. Would they benefit from tourism money, or do they need a different set of tools to thrive?

• Research how cultural tourism is funded in other states and counties. Do they use a hospitality tax? What resources are available?

• Research locations with vibrant merchants’ associations, and clusters of small businesses (10+ small businesses close together)

• Explore the field and experience some of these places. Meagan will send a set of google pins for specific places in PG county she wants to be examined. This will help students get a feeling for what types of places she’s looking to examine with this project.

Databases
EbscoHost:
Academic Search Ultimate
Business Source Complete
EconLit
MasterFILE Premier
Regional Business News

Others
Web of Science

Newspapers
Nexis Uni

Possible search strategy:
"main street"
and
"small business*" or "small firm*" or "small enterprise*" or "small compan*"
and
support* or fund*

Newspapers
Nexis Uni
possible strategy:
hlead("main street" and (support* or fund*) and "small busines*")
and then once in results - search within and add - maryland