Use keywords from your project descriptions.
Don't forget to check the main tabs for details:
google tips- use site:gov or site:org
especially when you are seeking to see what other states/cities/towns.. are doing to address the issues
CRS Reports - use the Congressional Publications database or google using your keywords and add - crs reports
Newspaper Articles:
Nexis Uni
National Newspapers Core (Washington Post / WSJ / Baltimore Sun)
So Important:
citation chasing - following references - backwards and forwards
this is the best way to build your bibliography
Follow up on the references and then go to google scholar to see who has cited the original publication
manage citations - use a citation management tool to keep track of your sources
keep track of the databases and searches you use
save yourself time by keeping track so you do not duplicate your work
searching multiple databases - search mulitple EbscoHost databases together
searching multile databases - search multiple ProQuest databases together
For many of your topics - you might want/need to search ALL the Ebsco databses at once
Ebsco tip: too many results? add more keywords / change search field to AB Abstract / Limit to United states = "united states" or usa or u.s. and change search field to AB Abstract
Location = "united sates" or usa or u.s. = AB Abstract
Proquest tip: change search field from Anywhere to - Anywhere except full text / Abstract / filter = Location = United States or "united states" or usa or u.s. = Abstract
Web of Science tip: change search field from All Fields to Topic
Identify one or two relevant articles - check the abstract / subject words and incorporate into your search if necessary
Remember - you will always retrieve documents that are not relevant!
Please email me with any questions
Judy
Google, some suggested searches:
worker* exploitation agricultur* maryland site:gov
worker* exploitation agricultur* maryland site:org
migrant* exploitation agricultur* maryland site:org
migrant* exploitation agricultur* maryland site:gov
All Ebsco databases
Possible search srategy:
"liberatory education"
and
freedom
For mission statement examples try google:
"liberatory education" "mission statement" site:edu
"liberatory education" "mission statement" site:org
Ebsco:
Academic Search Ultimate, Education Source, MasterFILE Premier, SocINDEX
Possible search strategy:
ableism or ableist
and
program or intervention or campaign
If you do not want school programs then add:
NOT
school* or classroom
Google:
abelism awareness program site:org
abelism awareness program site:edu
Ebsco:
Academic Search Ultimate, Business Source Complete, EconLIT, MasterFILE Premier, SocINDEX
Possible Search Strategies:
"paid leave"
and
bipoc or black* or indigenous or "people of color" or "African American*" or latin# or asian
-------
"paid leave"
and
"small business*" or "small firm*" or "small enterprise*" or "small compan*"
Google:
"paid leave" "small business*" site:org
"paid leave" "small business*" site:gov
"paid leave" "small business*" bipoc site:gov
"paid leave" "small business*" bipoc site:org
Databases:
Web of Science
Ebsco:
Academic Search Ultimate, Business Source Complete, SocINDEX with Full Text, MasterFILE Premier, Health Source - Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MEDLINE, SPORTDiscus with Full Text
possible search strategy for both databases:
bike* or bicycle*
and
crash* or accident*
and
data
and
software
Google:
data software bike* accident* site:org
data software bike* accident* site:edu
Nexis Uni provides access to University and College publications
Google:
"bike ambassador" site:edu
"bike ambassador" site:org
"bike ambassador" site:gov
Kindergarten Readiness for All by Ebsco:
Academic Search Ultimate, SocINDEX with Full Text, MasterFILE Premier, Education Source, ERIC
Possible search strategy:
"kindergarten readiness" or "school readiness"
and
program* or strateg*
and
evaluation or assessment or measurement or analysis
Google:
children budget maryland site:gov
"children* budget" maryland site:gov
children budget maryland site:org
"children* budget" maryland site:org
