Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Archival Studies

Writing a paper? Looking for books or articles? Need help citing your sources? This guide can help!

Open Access Journals

Here is a selective list of key open access journals in education. If you wish to see a more comprehensive directory of open access journals visit the Directory of Open Access Journals , which provides accsess to over 5265 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. You can even select the category of library & information science to browse 130 journlas.

BiD : Textos Universitaris de Biblioteconomia i Documentació 
ISSN: 15755886
Subject: Library and Information Science
Publisher: Universitat de Barcelona
Country: Spain
Language: Catalan, Spanish, English, French, Italian
Keywords: librarianship, digital libraries, archives, library technologies, information technology, information science
Start year: 1998
Publication fee: No --- Further Information

Brazilian Journal of Information Science 
ISSN: 19811640
Subject: Library and Information Science
Publisher: Universidade Estadual Paulista
Country: Brazil
Language: English, Portuguese
Keywords: librarianship, archival science , bibliometry
Start year: 2007
Publication fee: No --- Further Information

Cybrarians Journal 
ISSN: 16872215
Subject: Library and Information Science
Publisher: cybrarians, Cairo
Country: Egypt
Language: Arabic, English
Keywords: librarianship, information science, archives, libraries
Start year: 2004
Publication fee: No

Investigación Bibliotecológica
ISSN: 0187358X
Subject: Library and Information Science
Publisher: UNAM, Centro Universitario de Investigaciones Bibliotecológicas
Country: Mexico
Language: Spanish, English
Keywords: information science, library science, archives
Start year: 2005
Publication fee: No --- Further Information

Revista ACB 
ISSN: 14140594
Subject: Library and Information Science
Publisher: Associação Catarinense de Bibliotecários - ACB
Country: Brazil
Language: Portuguese
Keywords: information science, librarianship, documentation, archives
Start year: 1996
Publication fee: No --- Further Information

Revista Interamericana de Bibliotecología 
ISSN: 01200976
Subject: Library and Information Science
Publisher: Universidad de Antioquia
Country: Colombia
Language: Spanish, Portoguese, French
Keywords: library science, information science, archival science
Start year: 2000
Publication fee: No --- Further Information

Revue Électronique Suisse de Science de l'Information - RESSI
ISSN: 16611802
Subject: Library and Information Science
Publisher: Haute école de gestion Genève
Country: Switzerland
Language: French, German, English, Italian
Keywords: information science, documentation, archives, Switzerland
Start year: 2005
Publication fee: No --- Further Information

 

Journals

The American Archivist.

Archival Issues: Journal of the Midwest Archives Conference

Archival Outlook

Archival Science: International Journal on Recorded Information

Archivaria

Archives

Archives and Manuscripts

Archives and Museum Informatics

Bulletin of the Australian Society of Archivists

Comma: International Journal on Archives

The Information Management Journal

Journal of Archival Organization

Journal of the American Institute for Conservation

Journal of the Society of Archivists

Manuscripts

The Mid-Atlantic Archivist

Prologue: The Journal of the National Archives

Provenance

Rare Books and Manuscripts Librarianship

RBM : a journal of rare books, manuscripts, and cultural heritage

Records Management Journal

S. A. Archives Journal

UNESCO Journal of Information Science, Librarianship and Archives Administration

Journals

This is a selective list of journal titles for archives. For additional journal holdings information, please check the University Libraries catalog. Use the located on the journal's catalog record to ascertain if a journal is electronically accessible.

    • The American Archivist. Chicago: Society of American Archivists, 1938- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3020 .A45; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals
      • UMCP HBK Maryland Room Archives, Reference CD3020 .A45

    • Archival Issues: Journal of the Midwest Archives Conference. Chicago: Midwest Archives Conference, 1992- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3054 .M531

    • Archival Outlook. Chicago: The Society of American Archivists, 1993- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3020 .A75 Holdings:1993-2005. Newsletter is electronically accessible at The Society of American Archivist website from 2004 to the present.

    • Archival Science: International Journal on Recorded Information. Boston: Kluwer Academic, 2001- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD 921 .A73 Holdings: v1-5 (2001-2005); Subscription continues online; Click on Find It button

    • Archivaria. Ottawa: Association of Canadian Archivists, 1975/1976- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3620 .A7; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals

    • Archives. London: British Records Association, 1949/1952- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD1 .B7; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals

    • Archives and Manuscripts. Canberra, Australia: Australian Society for Archivists, 1965/1969- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD4 .A75; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals

    • Archives and Museum Informatics.Pittsburgh, PA: Archives and Museum Informatics, 1989-1999. Continued by Archival Science.
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD973 .D3A7

    • Bulletin of the Australian Society of Archivists.Canberra, Australia: Australian Society of Archivists, 1995- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD2500 .B85; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals

    • Comma: International Journal on Archives. Paris: International Council on Archives, 2001- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD1 .A182

    • The Information Management Journal.Prairie Village, KS: ARMA International, 1999- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks HF5736 .R36322; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals
      • UMCP HBK Maryland Room Archives, Reference HF5736 .R36322

    • Journal of Archival Organization.Binghamton, NY: Haworth, 2002- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD971 .J685; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals

    • Journal of the American Institute for Conservation. Washington, DC: American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works, 1989- .
      • UMCP Art Library Folio N8554 .A531; Current issues in UMCP Art Library - Current Periodicals

    • Journal of the Society of Archivists. London: Society of Archivists, 1965/1969- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD23 .S6A3 Holdings: v.3-25(1965/1969-2004); Subscription continues online; Click on Find It button

    • Manuscripts. New York: The Manuscript Society, 1967- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Z41 .A2A95; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals

    • The Mid-Atlantic Archivist. Washington, DC: Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference, 1990- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD921 .M53; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals

    • Prologue: The Journal of the National Archives.Washington, DC: United States National Archives, 1969- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3020 .P7; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals Prologue is electronically accessible at The National Archives and Records Administration [NARA]website.

    • Provenance. Atlanta, GA: Society of Georgia Archivists, 1982- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3180 .G421 Holdings: v1-19 [1983-2001]
      • UMCP HBK Maryland Room Archives, Reference CD3180 .G421 Holdings: v1-15, v. 17- [1983-1997, 1999- ]

    • Rare Books and Manuscripts Librarianship. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 1986- 1999. Continued by RBM.
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Z688 .R3R3

    • RBM : a journal of rare books, manuscripts, and cultural heritage. ... Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 2000- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Z688 .R3R32; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals

    • Records Management Journal. London: Association of Information Management, 1995- .
      • UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks HF5735 .R43; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals

    • S. A. Archives Journal. Pretoria, South Africa: South African Society of Archivists, 1990- .

  • UNESCO Journal of Information Science, Librarianship and Archives Administration.Paris: United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization, 1979-1983.
    • UMCP Off-Site Shelving Place a Request to Obtain Z671 .U472