Archives and Archival Studies

The Maryland Room is located on the first floor of Hornbake Library and provides access to many of the University's Special Collections, including the Rare Books, Historical Manuscripts, and the Maryland Collection.

The Maryland Room is open to University of Maryland students, faculty, and staff; faculty, students, and staff from other colleges and universities; local, national, and international scholars; and members of the general public.

Materials accessed in the Maryland Room are only available to view in the reading room, and do not circulate.  For more information about policies for the Maryland Room, please visit the Using the Maryland Room website.

For directions, hours, and other information, please visit the Maryland Room homepage. 

Helpful links:

• Using the Maryland Room

• Duplication of Materials Policy

• Digitization Policy

• Use of Scanners and Cameras

• Research Using Primary Sources

• Historical Manuscripts: Historical Manuscripts at the University of Maryland Libraries consist primarily of personal papers and archival collections documenting all aspects of Maryland history and culture. Other collection strengths include labor history and women's organizations.
• International Piano Archives at Maryland (IPAM): IPAM's collections comprise one of the world's most extensive concentrations of piano recordings, books, scores, programs, and related materials, including the archival papers of many great keyboard artists.
• Library of American Broadcasting: The Library of American Broadcasting holds a wide-ranging collection of audio and video recordings, books, pamphlets, periodicals, personal collections, oral histories, photographs, scripts, and vertical files devoted exclusively to the history of broadcasting.
• Literary Manuscripts Literary Manuscript holdings at the University of Maryland Libraries include correspondence, papers relating to published and unpublished literary works, publications, photographs, and memorabilia documenting twentieth- and twenty-first-century American, British, Maryland, and international literature and literary figures. The Papers of Katherine Anne Porter and Djuna Barnes are the primary archives for these twentieth-century American writers.
• National Public Broadcasting Archives: The National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) brings together the archival record of the major entities of non-commercial broadcasting in the United States. It began as a cooperative effort among several broadcasting organizations and educational institutions. CPB, PBS, and NPR along with the Academy for Educational Development joined forces with the University of Maryland to preserve the history of public broadcasting in America.
• National Trust for Historic Preservation Library Collection: The National Trust Library cooperates with the Archives and Manuscripts Department to maintain special collections related to historic preservation.
• Special Collections in Performing Arts: Special Collections in Performing Arts (SCPA) is a unit of the Performing Arts Library containing research collections, many maintained through joint agreements with national and international performing arts organizations. The various collections are separately administered. In addition to these organizational collections, SCPA also administers collections donated by individuals: the Charles Fowler Papers, the Howe Collection of Musical Instrument Literature, the Irving and Margery Morgan Lowens Collection, and others.
• University Archives: The University Archives is the repository for a broad range of materials, including official office records, printed publications, photographs, and memorabilia, documenting the history and present activities of the University of Maryland, and in particular, the College Park campus. The holdings of the University Archives are strongest in the post-1916 period.