Research Guides: Archives and Archival Studies: Database & Journal Finder

Finding Databases, Journals, and Articles in the UMD Libraries

Database Finder and Journal Finder are your portals to research databases and electronic journals.

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases.

Citation Finder is an additional resource to help find specific articles.

Learn how to search

Watch these short video tutorials to learn how to search the databases

Project Muse

Reload Button

Doing research off-campus? Try out the UMD Libraries reload button! Add the button to your browser's bookmark toolbar (see instructions below), and whenever you come across a journal you think you should be able to access, click the button to reload the page through the UMD Libraries proxy.

Firefox:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.

Chrome or Safari:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B (in Chrome).

Internet Explorer:
Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, we believe this link is safe.

*Note: Reloading the page through the proxy still won't give you access if it's a resource we don't subscribe to. To verify access, look up the journal or database in the A to Z list.

Core Archives Databases

Access to Archival Databases
The AAD System provides online access to material from more than 30 series of electronic records at the National Archives, including biographical, geographical, and organizational records.
ArchiveGrid
Provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,400 archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Archival Collections at UMD
The University of Maryland Libraries collects and preserves archival and manuscript collections of groups and individuals. This database provides descriptions of many of these collections. Use this website to explore collections and request material.

Library & Information Science Source
The definitive resource in the field of library and information science with more than 460 high-impact journals, nearly 30 full-text monographs and thesauri, and indexing for hundreds of journals as well as books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage encompasses librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more.

Supplemental Databases

ACM Digital Library
Full-text repository of papers from publications that have been published, co-published, or co-marketed by ACM and other publishers. Publications include journals, magazines, transactions, special interest group (SIG) newsletters, proceedings, and publications by affiliated organizations. Contains citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. 1985-present.
America: History & Life with Full-Text
Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. All aspects of historical research. Time span: 1964-present.
Dissertations & Theses Global
This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. It offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. Time Span: 1861 to present.
Historical Abstracts with Full-Text
Core international history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. It also provides indexing for over 1700 journals from 1964 to the present.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Other Resources

Archives Resource Center (ARC)
more...less...
This resource was put together by the Council of State Historical Records Coordinators (COSHRC) in response to a call for a Web-based information clearinghouse in the Action Agenda developed at the National Forum on Archival Continuing Education. It includes links to archival associations, state archives and records program homepages, state historical records boards, preservation and conservation agencies, calendars and directories, information on special initiatives in archives, resources from state archives and records programs, and much more.
CoOL: Conservation OnLine
more...less...
CoOL, a project of the Preservation Department of Stanford University Libraries, is a full text library of conservation information, covering a wide spectrum of topics of interest to those involved with the conservation of library, archives and museum materials. Includes an extensive set of links to other conservation and preservation resources.
List of Mailing Lists on Archives, Records Management, and Related Subjects
more...less...
Currently includes over 231 professional mailing lists on archives, records management, museums, indexing, archival description, conservation, and more.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
more...less...
"NUCMC is a free-of-charge cooperative cataloging program operated by the Library of Congress. NUCMC creates online records in OCLC WorldCat on behalf of eligible archival repositories throughout the United States." The site also includes Archival Internet Resources, which includes links to archival education, archival societies, Encoded Archival Description, Archival Preservation, and more.
Ready, 'Net, Go! Archival Internet Resources
more...less...
According to the creators of this project from Tulane University, "Ready, 'Net, Go! is an archival 'meta index,' or index of archival indexes. That is, from here we refer you to the major indexes, lists, and databases of archival resources. From them you can link to almost every archives and archival resource in the metaverse."
UNESCO Archives Portal
more...less...
This excellent resource from the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is billed as "an international gateway to information for archivists and archives users." It includes links to all sorts of archives-- government, academic, museum, community, religious, etc.--primary sources online, resources for education and training, preservation and conservation, and too many more to mention. UNESCO specialists also regularly publish studies and guidelines on basic issues of records and archives management.
Victorian Electronic Records Strategy
more...less...
The Victorian Electronic Records Strategy (VERS) was developed by Public Record Office Victoria (PROV) "to provide leadership and direction in the management of digital records. VERS is a world-leading solution to the problem of capturing, managing and preserving electronic records. VERS is a framework of standards, guidance, training, consultancy and implementation projects, which is centered around the goal of reliably and authentically archiving electronic records. VERS is promoted globally and has been accepted and used by archival institutions, national and international Governments and local and global product vendors."

Archives and Archival Studies

Subject Guide

What if there is no full text?

Need help now?