Research Guides: Archives and Archival Studies: E-books

UM e-Book Collections

Need help finding and using e-books at UMD? Check out this guide for more information! The links below will also help get you started using electronic resources at UMD.

EBSCO eBook Collection
A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries. (Formerly NetLibrary)
ProQuest Ebook Central
Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. In order to view, copy, or print you will need to install the ebrary Reader software. Links to download the reader are available from the main page after you connect. Truncation is not supported. Searches in ISSN, ISBN, and Year are done as Text searches. All searches report 'Hits were found' rather than the number of hits. Boolean NOT and OR searches are not supported.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series, and more.
Offering access to more than 300 encyclopedias and selected industry-standard reference series. Including content from SAGE Reference, John Wiley & Sons, Cambridge University Press, Berkshire Publishing Group, Cartographica, Linworth and Gale imprints.
Springer eBooks (2005-2011)
Accurate reproductions of over 30,000 Springer print book publications, with search capabilities and bookmarks.

How to download e-books to your device

Not sure how to download e-books to your device? Click the links below to learn how downloading works on these various devices. For more information on e-books at UMD, visit the Using eBooks Guide.

Free Internet e-Book Collections and Portals

HathiTrust Digital Library
Search approximately 500,000 volumes, including public domain works (fully viewable) and a sample of search-only volumes.

Bartleby.com
Provides free access to classic texts as well as contemporary reference works.
Internet Archive
"The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."
The Online Books Page
More than 30,000 free books on the Web. (UPenn)
Project Gutenberg
Provides free access to over 25,000 books in its catalog and links to affiliated projects.

Archives and Archival Studies

Subject Guide

Need help now?

UM e-Book Collections

How to download e-books to your device

Free Internet e-Book Collections and Portals