Maryland Genealogy

Comprehensive genealogical reference website providing access to indexed vital records, Census population schedules, voter lists, public family trees, and more. General access requires a paid membership, but is free when accessed from a National Archives center.

Fee-based genealogical reference website, created in 2009, consisting of an evolving database of 1.5 billion records such as Census indexes/population schedules, family trees, general vital records, and genealogical research software.

Index of websites about a wide range of genealogical subjects and resources.

Website of the nonprofit Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island foundation. Provides digital surrogates of passenger records from ships that arrived at the port of Ellis Island between 1892 and 1954.

An online genealogical records service from the Church of Latter Day Saints providing information from Census population schedules, immigration and naturalization records, Social Security death indexes, and more.

Tips and resources for researching ship's passenger lists.

Tips and links for beginning your own genealogy project.

Library
Online Collections

Listing from the Maryland Manual, a guide to Maryland government from the Maryland State Archives, of county and city genealogical societies throughout Maryland.

Central repository of official Maryland records and documents. Houses Maryland vital records, land records, government publications, and many other resources useful to genealogists and family historians.

Agency of the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene responsible for keeping certified vital records in Maryland such as birth certificates, death certificates, marriage certificates, and divorce verifications.

A guide about general Maryland genealogy, from how and where to find Maryland vital records, to a listing of local historical societies and family history centers.

Guide from the National Archives describing records useful to genealogists such as census records, military service records, immigration and naturalization records, and more. Also contains a database of articles about genealogical research.

Tips for getting started with genealogical research and a free search engine for finding current contact information about living individuals.