Research in the Art LIbrary

Discusses the terms, movements, and major artists in the modern American and European art world.

Now that ArtSpeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements and Buzzwords has demystified post-war art, ArtSpoke is intented to clarify international art terms from Realism through Surrealism.

This guide to three hundred movements from 1860 to the present is without peer - it is the key to understanding more than a century of dynamic change in Western painting, sculpture, architecture, and design." "Who, where, when, how, and why? The entries examine the context and evolution of each movement - the claims of the artists' manifestos, the drama of the exhibitions, the judgments of the critics, and the delight, or outrage, of the public.

This full-color dictionary provides a guide through the maze of twentieth-century art. Including artists, movements, photographers, techniques, styles, and turn-of-the-century precursors. Concise entries, many illustrated with works in color, cover the questions raised by encounters with modern art. Cross-references provide links between artists, concepts, and techniques, and a selected bibliography gives the latest and best books for further reading."

'Contemporary Artists' features comprehensive profiles of nearly 850 of the most significant artists woring in the contemporary era, with the vast majority of artists featured having produced their most significant work in the years after 1960.

This work contains biographical and bibliographical information on some 750 active photographers from around the world. There is particularly strong coverage of Indian, Far Eastern and Latin American photographers.

Online versions of 500+ published reference works from over 70 publishers, including general and specialist dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Web-based research tool that provides a single search across more than 43,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia. The database contains more than 26 million citations to both print and e-versions from all major and minor reference publishing houses. You can search the full breadth of the library’s reference collection at index-level, both saving time and maintaining the authoritative level of research that peer-reviewed reference works provide.