Research Guides: German Expressionism in Special Collections: Additional Resources

Online Resources

MOMA: German Experssionism
This website documents the Museum of Modern Art's extraordinary collection of more than 3,000 Expressionist prints, drawings, paintings, sculptures, illustrated books, and periodicals, exploring the various artists, themes, and techniques associated with the major modernist movement that developed in Germany and Austria during the early decades of the 20th century.
German Literature
An overview of the history of German literature from Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes a section on German Expressionism.

Databases and Journals

Database Finder offers online access to databases and journal articles, and is available only at University of Maryland Libraries or to University of Maryland staff and students. A selection of these resources is provided below.

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
ARTstor
Repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images, from across many periods and cultures. Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture are represented. Provides tools to actively use images for scholarship, teaching, and learning.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Oxford Art Online
UMD has access, no need to Sign In once on the Oxford page. Accessing remotely? Follow regular remote sign in procedures for databases. Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of The Grove Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.

Books

A Companion to the Literature of German Expressionism by Neil H. Donahue (Editor)
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks PT405 .C686 2005
ISBN: 1571131752
Publication Date: 2005-10-10

The libraries at the University of Maryland provide a wealth of information about German Expressionism. Some of these titles include:

Expressionism: art and idea by Donald E. Gordon
Call Number: Art Library Stacks NX550.A1 G63 1987
ISBN: 0300033109
Publication Date: 1987-11-01
German Expressionism by Jill Lloyd
Call Number: Art Library Folio N6868.5.E9 L55 1991
ISBN: 0300043732
Publication Date: 1991-07-24
German Expressionism and the Messianism of a Generation by Lisa Marie Anderson
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks PT668 .A53 2011
ISBN: 9789042033528
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Left-Wing Nietzscheans: the politics of German expressionism, 1910-192 by Seth Taylor
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks NX550.A1 T39 1990
ISBN: 0899256953
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Music While Drowning by David Miller; Stephen Watts
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks PT1160.E5 M87 2003
ISBN: 1854374710
Publication Date: 2003-06-01
The Expressionist Roots of Modernism by Peter E. Lasko; Peter Lasko
Call Number: Art Library Stacks N6868.5.E9 L37 2003
ISBN: 0719064104
Publication Date: 2003-11-08
The Total Artwork in Expressionism by Ralf Beil (Editor)
Call Number: Art Library Folio NX456.5.E9 G413 2011
ISBN: 9783775727136
Publication Date: 2011-10-31
The Writer in Extremis by Walter H. Sokel
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks PT405 .S6
ISBN: 0804705569
Publication Date: 1959-01-01